These six have begun campaigns to become Macon-Bibb mayor, commissioner

Four people are already vying to become the next Macon-Bibb County mayor in 2021.

Bibb County Board of Education President Lester Miller, County Commissioner Larry Schlesinger, Verbin Weaver with the Bibb County Democratic Party and Chatavia Callaway have filed declarations of intent to run.

There also are two others who have filed for County Commission, according to the Bibb County election’s office.

Those documents clear the way for each to start campaign fundraising.

The May 19, 2020, election will be a busy one with races for the mayor and nine commission districts up for grabs, as well as other local seats.

Candidates still have to qualify for their respective races in March.

Weaver and Callaway are the two latest to join to the field seeking to replace term-limited Mayor Robert Reichert.

Callaway is a Middle Georgia State University graduate and entrepreneur.

Weaver formally announced his candidacy on Friday. The construction worker has spent the past three years serving as a vice chair for the Bibb County Democratic Party.

Miller is an attorney who has been a member of the school board since 2013. Schlesinger is a former Macon City councilman and since 2014 has been a county commissioner.

Meanwhile, Seth Clark, who runs a communications consulting firm, says he’s exploring the possibility of entering the race for District 5, which is now represented by Commissioner Bert Bivins.

There’s also a potential candidate for District 7 in retired general contractor William Howell.

Scotty Shepherd is the current commissioner for the south Bibb district.

The consolidated government charter allows two terms for the mayor. Commissioners can serve for three terms.