Peach State Sports Blog

Six Georgia Southern players named to Sun Belt preseason teams

Georgia Southern's Matt Breida and Darien Foreman were first-team selections to the preseason All-Sun Belt Conference team Monday, while Kevin Ellison, Jay Ellison, Matt Dobson and Derek Keaton earned second-team honors.

The teams were picked by the coaches.

Breida led the nation in rushing yards per carry at 8.7 in 2014 and led the conference in rushing yards per game at 123.8. Foreman started all 12 games on the offensive line, and the Eagles averaged 381.1 rushing yards per game.

Kevin Ellison plays quarterback, while Dobson plays safety, Jay Ellison defensive line and Keaton wide receiver.