Bulldogs Beat

Georgia basketball's schedule announced, Bulldogs get Kentucky and LSU once each

Jason Butt

jbutt@macon.com

Georgia guard Kenny Gaines looks to drive in a game against South Carolina.
Georgia guard Kenny Gaines looks to drive in a game against South Carolina.

Georgia's basketball team will play two of the SEC's toughest teams just once each this year.

On Wednesday, the conference unveiled its 2016 schedule, with the Bulldogs' 18-game slate announced. The Bulldogs will open conference play on the road at Florida on Jan. 2 before coming back home to play Missouri at home on Jan. 6.

Georgia plays Kentucky and LSU just once each, though both games are on the road. Georgia travels to Baton Rouge, Louisiana on Jan. 26 and to Lexington, Kentucky on Feb. 9. The lone two-game road stretch of the season occurs after the Kentucky game, with the Bulldogs visiting Mississippi State on Feb. 13.

"This is a brand new team," Georgia head coach Mark Fox said. "Every year we start anew, and this group has to pay the price. We’ve got a lot of work in front of us. If we can just focus on getting a little bit better every day, doing things the right way, learning how to play the right way, then hopefully when SEC play comes in January, we’ll be ready."

Georgia's non-conference schedule was also announced, with the Bulldogs playing Kansas on Dec. 4, Georgia Tech on Dec. 19 and Clemson on Dec. 22.

Here's Georgia's full schedule:

Friday, November 6: Exhibition – Armstrong Atlantic

Friday, November 13: Chattanooga

Friday, November 20: Murray State

Wednesday, November 25: High Point

Saturday, November 28: at Seton Hall

Tuesday, December 1: Oakland

Friday, December 4: Kansas State

Tuesday, December 8: Winthrop

Saturday, December 19: Georgia Tech

Tuesday, December 22: Clemson

Tuesday, December 29: Robert Morris

Saturday, Jan. 2: at Florida

Wednesday, Jan. 6: Missouri

Saturday, Jan. 9: at Mississippi

Wednesday Jan. 13: Tennessee

Saturday, Jan. 16: Texas A&M

Wednesday, Jan. 20: at Missouri

Saturday, Jan. 23: Arkansas

Tuesday, Jan. 26: at LSU

Tuesday, Feb. 2: South Carolina

Saturday, Feb. 6: Auburn

Tuesday, Feb. 9: at Kentucky

Saturday, Feb. 13: at Mississippi State

Tuesday, Feb. 16: Florida

Saturday, Feb. 20: at Vanderbilt

Wednesday, Feb. 24: at Auburn

Saturday, Feb. 27: Mississippi

Thursday, March 3: at South Carolina

Saturday, March 5: Alabama

  Comments