Politics & Government

Bibb Commission chairman makes committee, staff appointments

Bibb County Commission Chairman Sam Hart made his committee and staff appointments for 2009 on Thursday night.

Commissioner Joe Allen was named vice chair.

Committee appointments are as follows:

Engineering and Public Works: Allen (chair), Commissioner Elmo Richardson and Commissioner Lonzy Edwards;

Finance: Richardson (chair), Allen and Commissioner Bert Bivins;

Human Resources and Information Services: Edwards (chair), Bivins and Allen;

License and Tax: Richardson (chair), Allen and Edwards;

Ordinances and Resolutions: Bivins (chair), Richardson and Allen;

Properties: Bivins (chair), Richardson and Edwards;

Risk Management and Public Safety: Edwards (chair), Richardson and Bivins;

Tobesofkee: Allen (chair), Edwards and Bivins.

Hart appointed Bivins to the Macon Water Authority, the Land Bank Authority and the Board of Health. Hart will serve at the Regional Development Center.

All department heads were reappointed to their positions.

The commission approved the appointments.