Politics & Government

Rep. Jim Marshall picked for Agriculture Committee

Rep. Jim Marshall was selected Thursday to serve on the House Agriculture Committee for the 111th Congress. The announcement was made by committee chairman Collin Peterson of Minnesota, according to a news release.

Another Georgian, Rep. David Scott from the 13th District, also is on the House Agriculture Committee, the release stated.

Marshall and Scott were two of 28 Democrats chosen by the House Democratic Steering Committee. The House Republican Conference named 17 Republicans to serve on the committee, but none are from Georgia.

The House Agriculture Committee has jurisdiction over a wide range of agriculture and rural development issues, according to the release. These areas include renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, conservation, international trade, futures market regulation, animal and plant health, agricultural research, bioterrorism and forestry.