Education Notebook: Bibb school district to host information session

Bibb County Board of Education members will hold a community information session at 6 p.m. Tuesday to present stakeholders with updates on how the district is addressing required actions as part of the accreditation process.

AdvancED, the accrediting agency, highlighted areas the school district needed to improve on in May 2013. The lowest scoring category for Bibb was governance and leadership.

The community meeting will take place in the board room at 484 Mulberry Street in downtown Macon.


Mercer University will host the 2015 Walter B. and Kay W. Shurden Lectures on Religious Liberty and Separation of Church and State on Tuesday and Wednesday on both the Atlanta and Macon campuses. All three lectures are free and open to the public.

This year’s lecturer is Alan Brownstein, professor emeritus at the University of California, Davis, School of Law. Brownstein is a nationally recognized constitutional law scholar who primarily focuses on church-state issues.

He has been published in numerous academic journals, provided assistance to advocacy groups on issues relating to religious liberty and equality, and has been invited to lecture at many academic conferences and law-related programs.


Students will present their latest research and compete for cash prizes during a daylong conference that honors the founders of Fort Valley State University’s social sciences department. The university will host its 35th annual Banks-Pierro-Bellamy-Rutland Colloquium on Friday.

During the morning, social science students will present their papers before a panel of judges. Scholarships will be given to FVSU student scholars at noon. Outstanding FVSU social sciences alums will also receive special honors.


Mercer University sophomore Kaydren Orcutt has earned one of the nation’s most prestigious and competitive research scholarships for undergraduate students, the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

Orcutt is the university’s fourth Goldwater Scholarship winner, and its third in three years. Only 260 students received the award for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Orcutt received the scholarship based on academic merit from a field of 1,206 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide. The one- and two-year scholarships, awarded to undergraduate sophomores and juniors, cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

Orcutt, from Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, is majoring in chemistry and Spanish and is a 2013 Stamps Scholar and participant in the University Honors Program.


Fifteen students from Houston County schools were selected for the Georgia Music Educators Association All-State Band. Selection for All-State is the highest honor a band member may achieve.

Thousands of band students from across the state audition, and only about five percent are chosen.

Feagin Mill Middle School had two eighth-grade students -- Emily Howell (horn) and Alyssa Hampton (contra-clarinet) -- as did Perry Middle School -- Ian Cornelius (horn) and Matt Snell (trumpet). Seven Houston County High School students were chosen: Wilson Childers (trumpet), Brandon Fortson (trumpet), Wesley Grace (tuba), Justin Hall (alto saxophone), Nathan Moore (trumpet), Jim Shaw (percussion) and Rachel Verrelli (clarinet).

Rayvon Love (trumpet) and Paolo Franciso (percussion) were selected from Warner Robins High School, and Emily Moody (trumpet) and Vincent Glover (percussion) were selected from Perry High School.

Telegraph reporters David Schick and Jeremy Timmerman contributed to this report.