Education Notebook: Brown named CGTC Instructor of the Year

Bobby Brown, program chairman for the Criminal Justice program, has been named Central Georgia Technical College’s 2105 Instructor of the Year.

He received the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction to mark his accomplishment at an Honor’s Day ceremony Dec. 3.

Brown, nominated by his peers, was selected as the winner from a group of five finalists. A panel of community leaders interviewed each finalist to determine the college’s winner. Other finalists for the award were Kelly Sorenson, program chair for General Education; Morris Clarington, program chair for Health Sciences Core; Marilyn Norfleet, Adult Education; and Cassie Bridges, Business Administrative Technology.

Brown began his career with the Technical College System of Georgia in 2007 as an adjunct instructor at South Georgia Technical College. In 2008, he began working for Middle Georgia Technical College as an adjunct instructor for Criminal Justice and the Paralegal Studies departments. He moved into a full-time instructor role, and after the merger of Middle Georgia Technical College and Central Georgia Technical College, he was named program chair for Criminal Justice Technology.


Middle Georgia representatives were recently named to the governor’s four Education Advisory Boards, made up of superintendents, principals, teachers and local school board members from each congressional district.

The boards will meet with the governor and his staff over the next year to provide guidance on education policy issues facing the state.

Peach County’s Daryl Fineran, Upson County’s Marguerite Shook and Dodge County’s Melinda Dennis were named to the board of superintendents. Houston County High School’s Douglas Rizer and Putnam County High’s Barry Lollis picked up spots on the principals’ board.

Retired Springdale Elementary teacher Beth Davis was named to the board of educators, and Baldwin County Board of Education Chairman John Jackson was among the selected school board members.


Georgia College launched a yearlong 125th anniversary scholarship campaign with the goal of creating 125 newly funded scholarships.

The college’s foundation pledged to match donations to eligible scholarships during the quasquicentennial year. Funding opportunities include endowed scholarships, gifts to current scholarships or gifts to the Legacy Fund endowment for first-generation students.

To learn about giving opportunities, go to or email Bill Doerr at


Fort Valley State University recently launched the Recruit Back program, a campaign to encourage former students who left campus or dropped out to return and complete their degrees.

The campaign is in line with Gov. Nathan Deal’s new “Go Back, Move Ahead” program.

For more information about the program, call 825-6858.


Local physician and community volunteer Spencer Price has created KidTeacher, a nonprofit that serves as a free resource for educators to invite professionals from different backgrounds to come to their classrooms to supplement lessons with real-life, hands-on learning experiences.

Professionals may set up a profile to volunteer at

For questions, contact Matthew Michael at or 621-4491.


Feagin Mill Middle School teacher Caroline Lane and Warner Robins Middle School teacher Benjamin Reese were among 40 of Georgia’s first-year teachers to receive a New Teacher Assistance Grant from Georgia Power.

Joe Brownlee, Georgia Power area manager, will present each teacher a $1,000 New Teacher Assistance Grant on Friday at their schools.

Teacher nominations were submitted to Georgia Power by the 20 Georgia public colleges and universities that have a school of education. To be eligible for the grant, candidates must be a first-year public school teacher and in the top 25 percent of their class academically. They must also demonstrate a high aptitude for teaching.

Since 2004, Georgia Power has awarded these grants to encourage new teachers to stay in the profession. The grant may be used to purchase classroom supplies such as books, educational materials and technology.