Education notebook: Houston’s Central Registration has shorter hours

Central Registration for Houston County schools has new and shorter hours effective Monday.

The new hours of operation are 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday and 8 a.m.-noon Wednesday. The office previously was open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

New students and students changing schools should register at Central Registration. The office is located in the Bert Rumble Complex at 303 S. Davis Drive, Warner Robins.

Registration forms are available online. Go to, click on “Departments,” then “Central Registration.”


Gov. Nathan Deal recently awarded medals to schools in the SHAPE Honor Roll program, which recognizes efforts to improve students’ physical activity, nutrition and wellness.

Middle Georgia winners include Houston County’s Linwood Elementary School, with a gold medal; Houston County’s Lake Joy and Matt Arthur elementary schools, with silver medals; Monroe County’s Samuel E. Hubbard Elementary School, with a silver medal; and Bibb County’s Ingram-Pye Elementary School, with a bronze medal.


Trustees for the R.A. Bowen Trust have announced scholarships for these Macon-area students for the 2014-15 academic year.

The schools and the students are:

Auburn University, Olivia Taylor;

Berry College, Celia Dan;

Brown University, Hunter Quintal;

College of Charleston, Sarah Hammond;

Furman University, Mary Katherine Lance;

Georgia College & State University, Samuel Bechtel, Brenton Jackson, William Hicks;

Georgia Southern University, Kathleen Thomas;

Georgia Tech, Ryan Beckmann, William Finkelstein, Caroline Ware;

Mercer University, Mitch Harrell, Daniel Pirovano, Sarah Pounds;

Middle Georgia State College, Payton Waldorf;

Middle Tennessee State University, Thomas Young;

University of Alabama, Cecilia Bullard;

University of Georgia, Morgan Sowell, Annie Vogel;

University of the South, Harold Groce;

Valdosta State University, Gibson Holder;

Wesleyan College, Kristen Dennard, Alexis Mullaly, Crystal Walker;

Westminster Choir College, Margaret Bergmark.

R.A. Bowen established the trust in 1943 to help capable, deserving and needy students attend college. Applications are accepted beginning April 1 each year, with a deadline of June 1, and may be obtained by visiting the website at


Georgia’s Quality Basic Education formula is supposed to be just that, providing a good baseline education for students. But the state has never fully funded what’s called QBE, and an updated “Schoolhouse Squeeze” study from the Georgia Budget & Policy Institute shows full funding would have meant school districts would have gotten another $439 per student, on average.

But specifics matter. The report suggests that the Putnam and Baldwin County school systems along with Dublin’s school system have lost more than 30 percent of their per-pupil state funding since 2002, when inflation is taken into account.

In Bibb County, the shortfall from full QBE funding is north of $10 million this year, the report shows, resulting in a cumulative loss of about $123.7 million since 2002. In Houston County, the one-year hit is more than $13 million, with a cumulative loss of about $144.4 million. The much smaller Laurens County system is out almost $3.1 million this year, for a total loss of about $36 million.

In Baldwin County, inflation-adjusted funding is down $1,958 per student per year. Dublin’s is down $2,045. Hancock County’s is down $1,716.

To view the study, visit online.


The Baldwin High School band program is hoping a bit of magic will lead to a truck to haul around the 200 members’ equipment.

Mark the Magic Man will offer his new show, “Deja vu,” at 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. Saturday in the Baldwin High Fine Arts Center. The magic show is for people of all ages. The show deals with topics of dreams and reality and uses illusions, assistants, costume changes, lighting effects and audience participation.

Advance tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for children under 10 and $20 for VIP seating. Prices are $2 to $5 higher at the door. For ticket information, visit or, or call Band Director Ryan Murrell at 478-457-6429, extension 308.


Four Tunisian students have begun fall semester classes at Central Georgia Technical College’s Macon campus. As part of the U.S. State Department’s Thomas Jefferson Scholarship Program, each of the students have chosen to enroll in the college’s computer information systems program. This marks the first time Central Georgia Tech has hosted students through the program.

The two men and two women are attending class full time and earning a one-year certificate in their field of study. They will reside in College Park Apartments adjacent to the Macon campus.

The students already have some college experience behind them. They come highly recommended by their professors, and their English proficiency levels are high enough for them to be accepted as regular admit students.


Georgia College’s Live Healthy Baldwin program has earned the university the 2014 Higher Education Civic Engagement Award. Only five universities nationwide were honored this year.

The award, presented by The Washington Center and the New York Life Foundation, recognizes institutions for their dedication to civic engagement through partnerships that address a public concern.

The Live Healthy Baldwin program, coordinated through the Georgia College Center for Health and Social Issues, is a community-wide initiative focused on reversing childhood obesity among at-risk children.

Georgia College will receive $20,000 in scholarship funding to help students participate in The Washington Center’s Academic Internship Program.

For more information about Live Healthy Baldwin, go to


The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s third Environmental Youth Symposium for Colleges and Universities in the Southeast is scheduled for 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Friday in Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth St. S.W., Atlanta.

The conference is aimed at students, faculty members, administrators and other environmental stakeholders to discuss and collaborate on issues like climate resilience, environmental stewardship, clean energy and other issues.

Telegraph writers Oby Brown, Jennifer Burk and Mike Stucka contributed to this report.