Mercer scholarship winners announced

The City of Macon/Mercer Scholarship committee announced the 15 winners of Mercer Scholarships for the 2009-10 academic year, said Macon City Councilman Ed DeFore, who chairs the committee.

The winners include: Muhammad Sho’ayd Alley, Lachelle Banks, Ardis Dickens, Micah Esmond, Priva Goel, John Holliday Jr., D’Amonta Stephen Johnson, Kathryn L. Irby, Tracey Hudson McWilliams, Matthew Odom, Jessica Elaine Reich, Desiree Roberts, April Smith, Mildred Smith and Trenton White.

The four alternates include Kyle Aaron Wilcher, David O’Shaughnessey, Nicholas Benesh and LaTonia Balkcom.All of the candidates must live within the city limits, DeFore said. The scholarships are awarded based on a combination of academic achievement and financial need.