Monroe schools recognized for achievement in testing

Four Monroe County schools were recognized this school year for making annual testing goals under No Child Left Behind, despite having economically disadvantaged students.

The four Title I schools were among the 777 Georgia 2008-09 Title I Distinguished Schools.

According to a Monroe County school system news release, schools are recognized based on the number of consecutive years they make Adequate Yearly Progress.

Two of the schools, Samuel Hubbard Elementary and T.G. Scott Elementary, made AYP for eight consecutive years. Each school will get a certificate and money prize.

Banks Stephens Middle and William M. Hubbard Middle made AYP for three straight years and will get a certificate.

In addition, Banks Stephens Middle also was recognized as a national Title I Distinguished School, only one of two schools in Georgia. The middle school will get $15,000 in extra federal funding. The four schools will be recognized by the Monroe County Board of Education at 7 p.m. tonight in Forsyth, a news release states.