Middle Georgia teens among this year’s Georgia Scholars

Several Middle Georgia 12th-graders are getting some bling for their high school diplomas. They’ve been named 2017 Georgia Scholars by the Georgia Department of Education’s Excellence Recognition Office.

The recipients were selected for their academic and community achievements, and they will receive special seals for their diplomas.

Area honorees include Nivedha Soundappan of Houston County High; Dawson Dooley and William Sawyer of Perry High School; Timothy Silva of Putnam County High; Caroline Dunn of Tattnall Square Academy; Katlyn Smaha and Adam Young of First Presbyterian Day School; and George Culpepper, Walter Kopacz and Winston Way of The Westfield School.

See the full list of winners at at

Andrea Honaker: 478-744-4382, @TelegraphAndrea