The Sun News

Houston schools name top teachers

Schools in Houston County schools have all selected a Teacher of the Year, according to a news release by the school system. Those selected will be recognized at the system’s Opening Session on July 25 at the Georgia National Fairgrounds and Agricenter in Perry, where the 2016-2017 Houston County Teacher of the Year and four finalists will be announced.

2016 - 2017 Houston County Teachers of the Year

Bonaire Elementary: Merrie DeJeet

Bonaire Middle: Julie McCoy

C.B. Watson Primary: Summer Peavy*

Centerville Elementary: Richard Jordan

David Perdue Elementary: Florrie Manning

David Perdue Primary: Kathryn Deal

Eagle Springs Elementary: Lynn Gunerman

Edge Academy: Tara Raines

Feagin Mill Middle: Lloyd McDonald*

Hilltop Elementary: LaRae Harrelson*

Houston County Career Academy: Donna Christiansen

Houston County Crossroads Center: Christie Howard

Houston County High: Katherine Boudreaux

Huntington Middle: Laurie Coggins*

Kings Chapel Elementary: Robin Martin*

Lake Joy Elementary: Elaine Huffman

Lake Joy Primary: Stephanie Smith

Langston Road Elementary: Rachada Page

Lindsey Elementary: Krystalyn May

Matt Arthur Elementary: Monica Woods

Miller Elementary: Sue McDonald*

Morningside Elementary: Megan Spigener

Mossy Creek Middle: Kearston Arnold*

Northside Elementary: Charlie Ross

Northside High: Janann McSwain*

Northside Middle: Ralph Swem

Parkwood Elementary: Shirley Rumph

Pearl Stephens Elementary: Curtis Singleton

Perry High: Susan Bray

Perry Middle: Susan Campbell

Quail Run Elementary: Allison Tarrer

Russell Elementary: Marley Mills

Shirley Hills Elementary: Ashley Watkins*

Thomson Middle: Mark Ivory

Tucker Elementary: Bethany Bembry

Veterans High: Dave Gibbs*

Warner Robins High: Jonna Puryear

Warner Robins Middle: Aimee Bagwell

Westside Elementary: Latria Harris

* Top 10 semi-finalist for Houston County Teacher of the Year