Houston & Peach

State, local hopefuls file on first day of qualifying

Qualifying for some local, state and federal elections began Monday. There already are primary contests for both of Middle Georgia’s U.S. House of Representatives seats, as well as local races in Bibb, Crawford and Monroe counties. State primary competitions include races for governor and House District 143, which represents the Dublin area.


None qualified Monday.


Civil Court Judge

William C. Randall, 66, Democrat, incumbent

Board of Education District 8

Bette-Lou Brown, 67, Democrat, former director of Bibb County’s gifted education and former director of Historic Macon Foundation

Wanda West, 57, Democrat, leadership consultant and former Twiggs County school superintendent


County Commission District 1

William A. Head Jr., 62, Democrat, Board of Education maintenance worker

Benjamin Frank Hollis, 71, Democrat, incumbent, retired

County Commission District 5

Eddie Still, 45, Republican, incumbent, small business owner


Nonpartisan special election for Board of Education Post 5

Helen Hughes, 54

Post 1 Board of Commissioners chairman

Tommy Stalnaker, Republican

Post 2 Board of Commissioners

Jay Walker, Republican incumbent

State Court solicitor

Rob Tawse, Republican incumbent

State Court clerk

Gay Valasky, Republican incumbent


Board of Education District 1

Deloras Moon, 66, Democrat, incumbent, school/church administrator

Board of Education District 3

J.D. Collins, 51, Democrat, special agent

Brady Skinner, 35, Republican, GEICO claims adjuster

Board of Education Chairman

Joshua Lurie, 27, Democrat, occupation listed as Community Voice Media LLC


None qualified Monday.


County Commission District 3

John A. Ambrose, 61, Republican, retiree

Patsy J. Miller, 68, Republican, retired tax commissioner

County Commission District 4

James C. “Jim” Peters, 59, Republican, self-employed

Joe W. Proctor Sr., 78, Republican, retiree


Board of Commissioners Post 4

Martin Moseley Jr., 51, Republican, incumbent

Board of Education Post 4

Butch Hammack, 50, Republican

Board of Education Post 5

Mike Gilstrap, 62, Democrat


District 3 Board of Education

Ethel Stanley, 75, Democrat, retired, incumbent



Nathan Deal, 67, of Gainesville, Republican, former congressman

Eric Johnson, 56, of Savannah, Republican, architect

DuBose Porter, 56, of Dublin, Democrat, attorney and newspaper publisher

Lieutenant Governor

L.S. Casey Cagle, 44, of Gainesville, Republican, incumbent, businessman

Carol Porter, 51, of Dublin, Democrat, general manager of Courier Herald Publishing Co.

Attorney General

Kenneth “Ken” Hodges, 44, of Atlanta, Democrat, attorney

State Senate District 13

John Dickey Crosby, 70, of Tifton, Republican, incumbent, retired Superior Court judge

State Senate District 14

George Hooks, 64, of Americus, Democrat, incumbent, insurance

State Senate District 16

Ronnie Chance, 41, of Tyrone, Republican, incumbent, public relations

State Senate District 18

Cecil Staton, 52, of Macon, Republican, incumbent, businessman

State Senate District 25

Johnny Grant, 60, of Milledgeville, Republican, incumbent, businessman

State Senate District 26

Robert Brown, 60, of Macon, Democrat, incumbent, businessman

State House District 125

Susan Holmes, 67, of Monticello, Republican, retired

State House District 135

Lynmore James, 72, of Montezuma, Democrat, incumbent, farmer

State House District 136

Tony Sellier, 65, of Fort Valley, Republican, incumbent, retired businessman

State House District 138

Nikki T. Randall, 37, of Macon, Democrat, incumbent, marketing manager

State House District 139

David E. Lucas, 60, of Macon, Democrat, incumbent, self-employed

State House District 140

James A. “Bubber” Epps, 66, of Dry Branch, incumbent, retired contractor

State House District 143

Matt Hatchett, 44, of Dublin, Republican, business owner

Daniel “Dan” King, 42, of Dublin, Democrat, restaurant owner and attorney

Mitch Warnock, 41, of Dublin, Democrat, attorney

State House District 144

Jimmy Pruett, 58, of Eastman, Republican, incumbent, businessman

State House District 145

Willie L. Talton, 66, of Warner Robins, Republican, incumbent, retired law enforcement

State House District 147

Buddy Harden, 69, of Cordele, Republican, incumbent, pharmacist


U.S. Senate

Johnny Isakson, 65, of Marietta, incumbent, Republican

Rakeim “RJ” Hadley, 41, of Conyers, Democrat

U.S. House, District 2

Rick Allen, 59, of Columbus, Republican, president of medical supply company

Sanford Bishop, 63, of Columbus, Democrat, incumbent

Lee Ferrell, 58, of Albany, Republican, retiree

U.S. House, District 8

Angela Hicks, 51, of Macon, Republican, business owner

Jim Marshall, 62, of Macon, Democrat, incumbent, attorney

Diane Vann, 57, of Macon, Republican, registered nurse

Staff writers Mike Stucka, Becky Purser, Andrea Castillo, Julie Hubbard, Andy M. Drury and Oby Brown contributed to this report.