Jones named Preserve America Community

Jones County was one of 15 communities designated by first lady Michelle Obama as a new Preserve America Community.

Though Jones County was the only Georgia community recognized this year, Jones County’s designation brings the state’s total number of Preserve America Communities to 36 since the program began in 2003.

“Preserve America Communities are committed to preserving their past by using their heritage to build a better future,” Wayne Donaldson, chairman of the federal Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, said in a news release. “It is good news for the nation when 15 more communities demonstrate that they want to enjoy and share the economic, educational, environmental and sustainability benefits preservation provides while creating more vibrant and desirable places to live, work and visit.”

There are 858 Preserve America Communities nationwide.