Peyton Anderson Foundation awards scholarships to 23 students

Getty Images/iStockphoto

The Peyton Anderson Foundation awarded 23 renewable scholarships to graduating Bibb County high school seniors on Wednesday.

The awards came during a luncheon that featured Sandra Deal, Georgia’s first lady.

It marked the ninth year that the foundation has helped fund college tuition for students across Middle Georgia. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years. Recipients must maintain at least a 3.0 grade-point average and perform volunteer service in their home or campus communities.

Mercer University chancellor and Peyton Anderson Foundation trustee R. Kirby Godsey awarded the Juanita T. Jordan Community Service Leadership Award for 2017-2018 to Ciara Gabrielle Long, a student at the University of Georgia. She is a Peyton Anderson Scholar from the Class of 2014.

The scholarships, up to $7,500 annually, support promising high school students in Bibb County who will attend one of the following institutions: Central Georgia Technical College, Fort Valley State University, Georgia College, Georgia Tech, Georgia Southern University, Georgia State University, Kennesaw State University, Middle Georgia State University, Mercer University, the University of Georgia and Wesleyan College.

Anderson was a former owner of The Macon Telegraph and The Macon News. He assigned the bulk of his estate for charitable purposes to benefit his hometown and the Middle Georgia area.

The 2017 recipients and the colleges they will attend include:

1. Logan Bates: Mount de Sales Academy/University of Georgia

2. Diamond Belgrave: Central High School/Georgia State University

3. Mya Carter: Westside High School/Georgia Southern University

4. Ravyn Chatmon: Rutland High School/Georgia State University

5. Trinity Choo: Howard High School/University of Georgia

6. Hannah Elliott: Rutland High School/Kennesaw State University

7. Mark Estes: First Presbyterian Day School/Kennesaw State University

8. Kenterious Goolsby: Southwest High School/Georgia Southern University

9. Sarah Beth Heath: Tattnall Square Academy/University of Georgia

10. Tamara Horton: Howard High School/Georgia State University

11. David Hudgins: Howard High School/Georgia Southern University

12. Breanna Ivey: Central High School/Georgia Tech

13. Evan Kelley: Mount de Sales Academy/University of Georgia

14. Skylar Logan: Rutland High School/University of Georgia

15. Juliann Pham: Howard High School/Georgia Tech

16. Ethan Rutland: Rutland High School/Georgia Southern University

17. Leyla Slappy: Northeast High School/Georgia Southern University

18. Katlyn Smaha: First Presbyterian Day School/University of Georgia

19. Mary Ellen Smith: Howard High School/University of Georgia

20. Rosalee Spivey: Stratford Academy/Mercer University

21. Hailey Stephens: Howard High School/Georgia Southern University

22. Danielle Tate: Westside High School/Wesleyan College

23. Israel C. Tharpe: Stratford Academy/Georgia College