Houston, Peach, Dooly added to FEMA aid list

Houston, Peach and Dooly are among seven additional counties eligible for public assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency in the wake of recent heavy rain and flooding, according to a release from the Georgia Emergency Management Agency.

The announcement brings the total number of counties in Georgia eligible for public assistance to 21. Those counties are: Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Dooly, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Houston, Newton, Paulding, Peach, Rockdale, Stephens, Taylor and Walker.

"Public Assistance for these hard-hit counties will go a long way in bringing relief," said Director Charley English of Georgia Emergency Management Agency. "The recent damage from this month’s flooding created financial burdens for local governments and this federal assistance will greatly help recoup some of the financial costs associated with responding to and recovering from this disaster."

The declaration means that local governments and some non-profit agencies may be able to recover a portion of their costs to replace infrastructure, such as bridges, dams and roads. Local governments and some private non-profit groups can also apply to be a part of the Hazard Migration Grant program, which provides assistance for actions taken to reduce long-term natural hazard risk.