Qualifying over for midstate elections

Qualifying for city elections across Middle Georgia has ended, with many incumbents facing no opposition. Here’s a look at who will be on the ballot in the Nov. 3 election, according to city clerks across the midstate. Residents must be registered by Oct. 5 to be eligible to vote in these races.


City Council seat 3

Michael Chumbley*

City Council seat 4

Michael Chidester*

City Council seat 5

Mark Waters



Harold “Bubba” Edwards*

John Harley

City Council - Post 1

Randall Wright*

City Council - Post 2

Cameron Andrews*



Clifford Avant

John Ricks

Gene Towns*

City Council

District 1, Post 1

Gary Ates*

District 2, Post 1

Charles Cranford*

District 3, Post 1

Dell Daniels

Leo Mullis*

CORDELE City Council

At-large Post:

Jamie C. Fernandez

Zack H. Wade*

Antwion Yowe

Ward 2 Post:

Willie Colson Jr.*

Curtis Lucas Jr.

Ward 3 Post:

John Lee Bagwell

Jeanie Bartee*

Larry Felton


City Council

At Large (3 seats, top 3 vote-getters win)

Jerry Davis

Curtis Q. Edwards Jr.

J.W. “JR” Scarboro*

Gerald Smith Jr.

Phil Thacker*

City school board

At Large

Rodney Carr

Frank P. Newman

District 1

Richard E. Sheffield*

District 2

John A. Bell III*


City Council

District 1

Idelle Walker*

District 5

David Rawlins*

Marlas Williamson


City Council

(3 at-large seats, top 3 vote-getters win)

Jo Anna Banks

Michael E. Dodd*

Gwendolyn King

Rosemary Alexander Walker*

Eric S. Wilson



Randy King

John Stumbo*

City Council, at-large

Barbara Williams*

City Council, East Ward

Florine Statham*

City Council, West Ward**

Melba Hester*

Jarrett Reagan

City Council, West Ward**

Jimmy Barnes

Teresia Dennis*

Utility Commission, East Ward

Billy Jones

Isabell Freeman

Utility Commission, at-large

Marvin Crafter

Robert “Bobby” Barnes

Jo Ann Dankel


Mayor August M. “Gus” Wilson Jr.

Lehman Wood

Mayor Pro Tem: Rallie D. “Rooster” Cogburn

Loretta Lipsey *

Richard “Rick” Tipton

District 1 Charlie Ridley

David Tufts*

District 2 Benny Gray, Jr.*

District 3 Terrell Fulford*

District 4 Joshua Lurie

Jeffery Parker

Russell Thompson


City Commissioner

Post 1

James A. Colson*

Post 2

Shelly J. Berryhill*

Post 5

Henry E. Cravey*

Kathleen Wall


Richard A. Bentley*

City Council

District 1

Collinda J. Lee

Alan H. Wicker

District 2

Jeanette H. Walden*

District 3

Donald “Bee” Hill

Denese Ray Shinholster*

District 4

John Alton

Ed “Dodo” Hollis

Phillip Joiner

District 5

Richard “Boo” Mullins Jr.*

Benjamin “Ben” Lewis

District 6

Steve Chambers*



James E. Faircloth

City Council District 1, Post 1

Phyllis Bynum-Grace*

City Council District 2, Post 1

Joe Kusar*

Joe Posey

City Council District 2, Post 2

Peggy Davis

William Jackson

City Council District 3, Post 1

Charles Lewis*

Randall Walker



Charles Cook

Becky Smith*

Council Post 1

B.J. Bassett

Council Post 2

Erv Patton*


City Council (2 at-large seats)

Walter Brown

Elizabeth English



Chuck Chalk

Clifford Holmes Jr.

Chuck Shaheen

Donald Walker*

City Council - Post 1

Linda Faye Carnes

Mike Daley

Art Howard

Doug McDowell

Jeffery Walker

City Council - Post 3

Dean Cowart

James “Paul” Shealy

City Council - Post 5

Darren D. Lee


**While the seats have the same title, there are two separate elections