Warner Robins Little Leaguer gets national award

At a postseason awards banquet where the honorees include University of Kansas coach Mark Mangino, Ohio State running back Chris "Beanie" Wells and Illinois coach Ron Zook, add Warner Robins Little Leaguer Dalton Carriker to the list.

Carriker, whose eighth-inning walk-off homer powered his team past Japan in the Little League title game last August, is being recognized by the Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio) as its Male Athlete of the Year.

Carriker will accept the award at a Feb. 9 banquet in Ohio. The prestigious ceremony is the same one where Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell will receive the club's noted Sammy Baugh Award, and where Kansas' Mangino will pick up the Woody Hayes Award.

Another club honoree with Georgia ties is UGA gymnast Courtney Kupets, named 2007 Female Athlete of the Year.