Tour de Georgia announces host cities for 2008 race

Officials with the Tour de Georgia announced the host venues and race route for the 2008 installment of the cycling race this afternoon.

The race will begin on April 21 in Tybee Island and end April 27 in Atlanta, according to a news release from Tour de Georgia officials.

As first reported Tuesday on, Macon will not be a host city for the first time since the race's inception.

Five new communities will host the Tour for the first time – Road Atlanta/Braselton, Statesboro, Suwanee/Gwinnett Co., Tybee Island, and Washington. Savannah hosted the overall start of the inaugural Tour de Georgia in 2003, according to the release.

Here's the plan for the Tour, which is the longest weeklong stage race in North America with over 650 miles of scenic byways and highways across the state:

Stage 1: Monday, April 21 – Tybee Island, Ga. to Savannah, Ga.Stage 2: Tuesday, April 22 – Statesboro, Ga. to Augusta, Ga.Stage 3: Wednesday, April 23 – Washington, Ga. to Gainesville, Ga.Stage 4: Thursday, April 24 – Road Atlanta/Braselton, Ga. (Team Time Trial)Stage 5: Friday, April 25 – Suwanee/Gwinnett Co., Ga. to Dahlonega., Ga.Stage 6: Saturday, April 26 – Blairsville/Union Co., Ga. to Brasstown Bald Mtn/Towns County, Ga.Stage 7: Sunday, April 27 – Atlanta, Ga. (Circuit Race)

Fpr more on this story, come back to or read Thursday's Telegraph.