Weather alert: Tornado watch issued for most of Middle Georgia

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch from 6 p.m. until 1 a.m. for the following Middle Georgia counties: Ben Hill, Bibb, Bleckley, Crawford, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Houston, Jones, Lamar, Macon, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Twiggs, Upson and Wilcox.

Other Georgia counties affected by the watch are: Baker, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Chattahoochee, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Harris, Irwin, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes, Marion, Meriweather, Miller, Mitchell, Muscogee, Pike, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Seminole, Spalding, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Troup, Turner, Webster, and Worth.

Click here for further weather information and updates throughout the night.