Latest News

Houston County High’s Munda named regional STAR student

Houston County High School senior Brandon Munda was named Middle Georgia’s STAR student during a dinner ceremony Monday night at Macon State College.

Each year the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition program, hosted by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators and area chambers of commerce, honors a top senior from each midstate high school, as well as their most influential teacher.

Munda, 17, was named STAR student for the Houston County school system last month. He competed against 19 county winners for the Region 6 title.

To win, a student must have the highest score in one sitting on the SAT and be among the top 10 percent of his or her class.

Munda is ranked first in his class, but he did not want to release his SAT score, Houston school officials said Monday.

“Brandon is an exceptional student and a person who excels in everything, even athletics, where he’s on the swimming team,” his high school principal, Sherri Freeman, has said of his nomination.

Munda, 17, plans to attend Emory University this fall, where he earned a full scholarship. He wants to major in biochemistry or law.

His chosen STAR teacher is his chemistry teacher, Laura Byrd, who has taught for 21 years and has been selected as a STAR teacher five times. Munda and Byrd now compete for the state title in April in Atlanta.

Other STAR student region nominees were:

Elena Faria, John Milledge Academy in Baldwin County; Maxine Anderson, Mount de Sales Academy, Bibb County; Sam Bell, Bleckley County High, Bleckley County; Heather Jones, Crawford County High, Crawford County; Shannon Clark, Crisp County High, Crisp County; Nash Skipper, Dodge County High, Dodge County; Lori Woodward, Fullington Academy, Dooly County; Thomas Purvis, Dublin High, Dublin city schools; Cody Batchelor, Jasper County High, Jasper County; Anna Darnell, Jones County High, Jones County; Kevin Eck, Trinity Christian School, Laurens County; Thai-Son Le, Macon County High, Macon County; Lauren Devereaux, Mary Persons High, Monroe County; Will Hedgpeth, Peach County High, Peach County; Jacob Quick, Hawkinsville High, Pulaski County; Katherine Lacksen, Gatewood Schools, Putnam County; Phillip Bloodworth, Wilcox County High, Wilcox County; and Demetrius Lee, Wilkinson County High, Wilkinson County.

Information from Telegraph’s archives was included in this report.

To contact writer Julie Hubbard, call 744-4331.