August 24, 2012 12:00 AM

Macon/Bibb stepping into uncharted consolidation waters

The first task of naming members to the consolidation task force -- the individuals who will attempt surgery on two governments to make them one -- have been named by the Bibb County Legislative Delegation. Ten of the 15-member committee were already known through the consolidation legislation: Rep. Nikki Randall and Sen. Cecil Staton will co-chair the task force, joined by Bibb County Commission Chairman Sam Hart; Chairman of Bibb Finance Committee Elmo Richardson; Macon Mayor Robert Reichert; Chairman of the city’s Finance Committee Tom Ellington; President of City Council James Timley; Leonard Bevill, board president of the Greater Macon Chamber of Commerce; Macon Police Chief Mike Burns, and Bibb County Sheriff Jerry Modena.

Related content

Suggested for you



Editor's Choice Videos