Telegraph wins 8 Georgia APME awards

Staff reportJune 21, 2014 

The Telegraph won eight Georgia APME awards Saturday, including recognition for the newspaper’s 2013 coverage of a massive, multi-vehicle crash on Interstate 16 that claimed four lives.

The awards, which include recognition for writing, photography and the newspaper’s website, were handed out at a luncheon in Atlanta. The Telegraph competed with other newspapers with circulations of at least 40,000.

The Telegraph’s awards are:

• Deadline reporting: second place for reporters Amy Leigh Womack and Liz Fabian, who covered the 27-vehicle interstate crash that killed four people in February 2013.

• Non-deadline reporting: third place for reporters Joe Kovac Jr. and Amy Leigh Womack for their story “Searching for Shorty.” The story chronicled police efforts to not only solve a cold-case killing but also to identify the dead man, whom they only knew by his nickname of Shorty.

• Business: second place for reporter Jim Gaines for a story that detailed the pollution on a piece of property along the Ocmulgee River in Macon that caused a key investor to back away from plans to develop it into high-end housing, shops and other businesses.

• Freedom of Information: second place for former reporter S. Heather Duncan’s look at the safety of dams across Middle Georgia.

• Best website: third place for

• Spot news photo: second place for photography chief Woody Marshall for an image of the deadly pile-up on Interstate 16.

• Sports feature photo: third place for photographer Jason Vorhees for a picture of Mercer University’s men’s basketball coach Bob Hoffman celebrating a semifinal win in the 2013 Atlantic Sun Tournament.

• Photo illustration: third place for Woody Marshall.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service