All-Middle Georgia girls soccer team

June 8, 2014 

Player of the Year: Katey Griggs, FPD

Coach of the Year: Joshua Trieste, FPD

First team

F Jasmine Musick, Rutland, Jr.

The rifle-legged Musick scored 28 goals to go with 14 assists as the Hurricanes hosted a playoff game for the first time in program history.

F Bella Gill, Stratford, Soph.

Gill scored 25 goals and added nine assists for the GISA Class AAA runners-up.

F Amy Morgan, FPD, Sr.

Morgan scored 20 goals to go with 10 assists for the state runners-up in GHSA Class A.

F Drew Endreson, Tattnall Square, Jr.

Endreson scored 30 goals and added 18 assists for the best Trojans team in years.

F Samantha Silva, Putnam County, Sr.

Silva scored 45 goals with nine assists for a Putnam County team that advanced to the state quarterfinals.

MF Jane Howell, FPD, Jr.

Howell led the Vikings to the state championship game with 24 goals and eight assists.

MF Caitlin Stephenson, Mary Persons, Sr.

Stephenson scored a school-record 26 goals for the Bulldogs.

MF Hayley Reynolds, Howard, Sr.

In a region with a state runner-up and two 25-plus goal scorers, Reynolds was GHSA Region 2-AAAA’s offensive player of the year.

MF Mary Kathryn Hightower, Stratford, Jr.

Hightower scored six goals and added eight assists for the GISA Class AAA runners-up.

D Sara Robertson, FPD, Jr.

Robertson excelled in a defensive-midfield type role, helping the Vikings allow just eight goals on the season with 13 shutouts.

D Madeline Pioli, Howard, Sr.

Pioli was named GHSA Region 2-AAAA defensive player of the year.

D Hope Hays, Stratford, Sr.

Hays led a Stratford defense that had 11 shutouts and allowed six goals on the season.

D Jada Foor, Veterans, Jr.

Foor spearheaded a defense that carried the Warhawks to the first state championship game ever by a public school in Middle Georgia.

D Maisyn Samples, FPD, Jr.

Samples helped lead the Vikings to 13 shutouts and added nine assists and three goals.

GK Erin Harbison, Veterans, Sr.

One of the best keepers in recent memory, Harbison didn’t allow a goal for 11 straight games heading into the GHSA Class AAAA championship game, and she allowed just three to juggernaut Marist. She signed with LIU-Brooklyn.

GK Anna Maddox, Northside, Sr.

Maddox helped Northside to its first ever 10-win season. She signed with Samford.

Second team

F Khayla Owens, Veterans, Jr.

F Katie Jo Daniel, Lamar County, Soph.

F Sofia Lekas, Mount de Sales, Jr.

F Julia Watson, East Laurens, Soph.

F Celia Dann, Howard, Sr.

MF Briana Williams, East Laurens, Jr.

MF Bailey Vesprille, Dublin, Sr.

MF Sara Oxford, Tattnall Sqaure, Sr.

MF Sierra Gomez, Veterans, Sr.

MF Savannah Smith, Veterans, Jr.

D Lily Phelan, Mary Persons, Sr.

D Hannah Mason, Dublin, Sr.

D Logan Gibbs, West Laurens, Jr.

GK Megan Sparks, FPD, Sr.

GK Sydney Moore, Lamar County, Jr.

Honorable mention

Bleckley County: Rebekah Bryant, Kesonia Byrd

Crisp County: Anna Olsen

Dublin: Caitlyn Bassett, Ashley Denson, Brittany Gabriel

East Laurens: Bianca Cole, Baja Harvey, Amber Oliver

FPD: Baylee Heard

GMC: Molly Jones, Lila Mitchell, Becky Vaughn

Houston County: Kaylee Bromell, Jessica Do, Tiana King

Jones County: Meghan Brennan, Cheyenne Mosteller, Kaitlin Towers

Mary Persons: Annie Kate Barnes

Northside: Sarah Askew, Lauren Sutton

Peach County: Natalie McEver

Rutland: Kaleigh Heath, Haley Holcomb, Janna Jordan, Setara Long, Jazz Thorpe, Megan Williams

Tattnall Square: Brooke Reno

Warner Robins: Abby Cranford, Guro Ringsaker

Westside: Shanikka Smith

West Laurens: Lauren Childers, Claire Mitchell

Recent All-Middle Georgia Players of the Year

2014: Katey Griggs, FPD

2013: Allie Hale, Stratford

2012: Kim Caitlin Alderman, FPD

2011: Rebecca Miller, FPD

2010: Allie Hale, Stratford

2009: Kelsey Black, FPD

2008: Katie O’Brien, Mount de Sales

2007: Kate Baker, Monroe Academy

2006: Adanma Ekeledo, Stratford

2005: Ashley Toussaint, Houston County

2004: Ashley Kirk, Stratford

2003: Lindsey Pharr, Stratford

2002: Kate Appleton, Stratford

2001: Kate Appleton, Stratford

2000: D’Anna Baxter, Houston County

1999: Emily Shoffner, Stratford

1998: Kate Appleton, Stratford

1997: Mary Ellen Bush, Stratford

1996: Mary Ellen Bush, Stratford

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service