All-Middle Georgia boys soccer team

June 7, 2014 

Player of the Year: Steven Moore, Houston County

Coach of the Year: Jason Kirk, Houston County

First team

F Morgan Sowell, Stratford, Sr.

Sowell broke the GISA career goals record with 144.

F Eric Kline, Mount de Sales, Sr.

Kline bounced back from an injury to score 21 goals and add nine assists.

F Matt Monday, Warner Robins, Sr.

The Demons’ best goal scorer helped lead Warner Robins to the Class AAAAA quarterfinals.

F Luis Medina, Peach County, Sr.

Medina scored 31 goals to lead the Trojans advanced to the state quarterfinals for the first time in school history.

F Bradley Mullis, FPD, Sr.

Mullis scored 18 goals to lead the Vikings to the second round of the state playoffs.

MF Kevin Griggs, FPD, Jr.

Scored 16 goals and had nine assists. A season-ending injury derailed FPD’s hopes of a deep playoff run.

MF Daniel Ward, Perry, Sr.

Ward led a Panthers’ offensive attack that carried Perry to the Class AAAA state quarterfinals.

MF Jonathan Scruggs, Houston County, Jr.

The Bears’ captain controlled the middle of the field and led the Bears back to the Class AAAAA state championship game.

MF Joshua Hampton, Mary Persons, Jr.

Hampton earned Region 2-AAAA Co-Player of the Year honors after scoring 22 goals.

MF Conner McCue, Stratford, Sr.

McCue set up the Eagles attack and finished second in career assists with 51.

D Will Pospisil, Houston County, Jr.

Pospisil helped lead the Bears back to the state championship game.

D Dillon Garrett, Veterans, Sr.

The four-year starter and captain earned All-Region 2-AAAA honors.

D Bryce Struckmeyer, Perry, Sr.

Struckmeyer anchored the Panthers’ defense as they made their deep playoff run.

D Callen Craig, Mount de Sales, Sr.

Craig led the Cavaliers’ defensive approach, but he also added seven goals.

D Brandon Aguilar, Houston County, Sr.

Aguilar helped anchor the back line of the Bears’ defense.

GK Austin Maddox, Northside, Sr.

Maddox was named goalkeeper of the year in Region 2-AAAAA.

Second team

F Adam Sole, Jones County, Jr.

F Brantley Webb, Trinity Christian, Sr.

F Justin Little, Houston County, Soph.

F Conner Shaw, Warner Robins, Sr.

MF Joey Barrick, Houston County, Sr.

MF Andrew Wanna, Stratford, Sr.

MF Tyler Scandrett, Lamar County, Sr.

MF Lukas Joyner, Stratford, Jr.

MF Cris Medina, Peach County, Soph.

MF Jordan Zwitch, Veterans, Sr.

D Kyle Lucas, Mount de Sales, Sr.

D Nicholas Farmer, FPD, Soph.

D Jonathan Richmond, Warner Robins, Sr.

GK Cody Dyar, West Laurens, Sr.

Honorable mention

Dodge County: Hunter Augins, Cole Honeycutt, Greg Pittman, CJ Roberson

FPD: Matthew Feagin, Christian Moore, Cole Morton

Gatewood: Trevor Bowden, Tobias Dileng, Jacob Eisele

GMC: Tom Drew, Delarrion Miller,Tyler Oates

Howard: Diego Witron

John Milledge: Hunter Henry, Brandon Panfil

Lamar County: Chase Bennett, Cullen Bennett, Justin Dobbins, Dylan Johnson

Mary Persons: Jacob Berkebile, James Davis, Dennis Miller

Perry: Micah Lehenbauer

Northside: Justin Alonso, Denzel Felder, Alex Gelter

Peach County: Francisco Jeromino, Alhair Rivera, Enrique Valencia, Victor Valle

Rutland: Tyler Miller, Landon Poole

Stratford: John Clark, Sean Grossnickle

Warner Robins: Cody Dees, Brandon Ogopian

Washington County: Luis Guerrero, Tyler Lewis

West Laurens: Tyler Fountain

Westfield: Andrew Smith

AMG Boys Soccer History

2014: Steven Moore, Houston County

2013: Steven Moore, Houston County

2012: Kioki Hutchings, Howard

2011: Darvin Ebanks, Mount de Sales

2010: Tyler Daly, Warner Robins

2009: David O’Shaughnessey, Stratford

2008: Alassane Kane, Stratford

2007: Jacob Primm, Houston County

2006: Uchenna Nwosu, Mount de Sales

2005: Blaine Hays, Central

2004: Brian Palen, Dublin

2003: Paul Elsbernd, Mount de Sales

2002: Eric Blevens, Warner Robins

2001: Tafara Makaya, Dublin

2000: Thomas Alexander, Stratford

1999: Ben Hunley, Houston County

1998: Jeff Russell, Stratford

1997: Lance Foutain, Houston County

1996: Matt Pederson, Warner Robins

1995: Jason Russell, Stratford

1994: Dana Cowart, Mount de Sales

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service