Telegraph staff wins 22 GPA awards

Staff reportJune 6, 2014 

The Telegraph captured 22 Georgia Press Association awards Friday night in the 2014 Better Newspaper Contest, including five first-place awards and the prestigious Freedom of Information Award.

Among the first-place wins is the newspaper’s work on Macon in the Mirror, a community project that appeared over several days last summer that gave Macon residents a chance to examine and reflect on the city’s highlights and blemishes.

That series -- a collaboration of the Center for Collaborative Journalism, which includes The Telegraph, Mercer University and Georgia Public Broadcasting -- won in the community service category.

The awards were presented during the association’s 128th annual convention on Jekyll Island. The Telegraph was judged against other newspapers in the state with a print circulation of 30,000 or larger.

The Telegraph’s reporting on the safety of dams across Middle Georgia earned the newspaper the Freedom of Information win, given to one daily and one weekly newspaper in Georgia for upholding First Amendment principles and protecting the public’s right to know.

Executive Editor Sherrie Marshall said The Telegraph’s reporters and editors work diligently “to provide Middle Georgia readers with news and information intended to enlighten, engage and entertain.”

“The staff works harder than ever these days because of the increasing demand for news not only in print, but on our digital and mobile platforms,” she said. “It is always a boost when the good journalism we produce is recognized by peers.”

The complete list of Telegraph wins:

• Freedom of Information Award;

• First place for headline writing;

• First place for community service;

• First place for business coverage, reporter Linda Morris;

• First place for website;

• First place for spot news photo, photographer Woody Marshall;

• Second place for layout and design;

• Second place for sports section or pages;

• Second place for sports photo, photographer Woody Marshall;

• Second place for feature photo, photographer Grant Blankenship;

• Second place for photo essay, photographer Beau Cabell;

• Second place for feature writing, reporter Joe Kovac Jr.;

• Second place for investigative reporting, reporters Mike Stucka and Andrea Castillo for their work examining the Bibb County school district’s financial commitments to the Promise Neighborhood initiative;

• Second place for sports writing, reporter Seth Emerson;

• Second place for best online news project for Macon in the Mirror;

• Third place for general excellence;

• Third place for local news coverage;

• Third place for editorial page;

• Third place for special issues, The Numbers Game;

• Third place for photo essay, photographers Grant Blankenship and Woody Marshall;

• Third place for serious column, columnist Charles Richardson;

• Third place for sports column, columnist Seth Emerson.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service