Tech legend Hamilton headed to CFB Hall of Fame

sports@macon.comMay 22, 2014 

Joe Hamilton was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame.


Former Georgia Tech star Joe Hamilton is headed to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Hamilton, the Yellow Jackets’ quarterback from 1996-99, will join 13 other inductees at the official ceremony on Dec. 9 in New York City.

Hamilton was an All American in 1999 and finished second to Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne for the Heisman Trophy.

“I’m humbled and honored to be selected in this class, along with some of the greatest players in college football history,” Hamilton said.

Hamilton is the 13th player in Yellow Jackets history to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Hamilton remains Georgia Tech’s all-time leader in total offense. He won the Davey O’Brien Award as the top quarterback in the nation, and led the Yellow Jackets to consecutive bowl wins and consecutive wins over Georgia.

He finished his career with the ACC career records for total offense, touchdown passes and total touchdowns.

Hamilton is joined by former players Dre Bly (North Carolina, 1996-98), Tony Boselli (Southern Cal, 1991-94), Dave Butz (Purdue, 1970-72), Shane Conlan (Penn State, 1983-86), John Huard (Maine, 1964-66), Darrin Nelson (Stanford, 1977-78, 80-81), Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech, 1990-92), John Sciarra (UCLA, 1972-75), Sterling Sharpe (South Carolina, 1983, 85-87), Leonard Smith (McNeese State, 1979-82), Derrick Thomas (Alabama, 1985-88), LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU, 1997-2000) and Wesley Walls (Mississippi, 1985-88) and coaches Mike Belotti (Oregon) and Jerry Moore (Appalachian State).

The permanent residence of the Hall of Fame is under construction in Atlanta and is scheduled to open in August.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service