ACC tournament team capsules

dshirley@macon.comMay 19, 2014 


Record: 40-15, 24-6 ACC.

Players to watch: Tyler Palmer (.304 average, 32 RBI); Dale Carey (.295, six home runs); Zack Collins (.285, eight HR, 46 RBI); Chris Diaz (9-0, 2.32 ERA); Brian Radziewski (7-2, 3.14 ERA).

Of note: The Hurricanes won 27 of their final 30 regular-season games. … Miami’s only tournament title came in 2008. … Diaz is tied for the conference leads in wins. … Collins is fifth in RBI. … Radziewski is third with 96 strikeouts.

Florida State

Record: 41-14, 21-9.

Players to watch: DJ Stewart (.362, seven HR, 47 RBI); Jose Brizuela (.325, 37 RBI); John Nogowski (.309, four HR, 46 RBI); Luke Weaver (8-3, 2.45 ERA); Mike Compton (7-1, 3.08 ERA).

Of note: The Seminoles have won five tournament titles, the last coming in 2010. … Stewart leads the conference in average and is tied for the lead in RBI. … Nogowski is tied for fourth in RBI. … Weaver is tied for third in wins. … The Seminoles lead the conference in runs scored (372), slugging percentage (.391) and on-base percentage (.396).


Record: 43-11, 22-8.

Players to watch: Joe McCarthy (.308, 41 RBI); Mike Papi (.299, 10 HR, 47 RBI); Nathan Kirby (8-1, 1.58 ERA); Brandon Waddell (7-3, 2.90 ERA); Josh Sborz (4-3, 3.13 ERA).

Of note: The Cavaliers have won three tournament titles, the last coming in 2011. … McCarthy is the only Cavaliers regular batting better than .300. … Kirby leads the conference in ERA. ... Papi is tied for the lead in RBI. … The Cavaliers lead the conference in team ERA (2.24).


Record: 32-23, 16-14.

Players to watch: Jordan Betts (.317, four HR, 30 RBI); Ryan Deitrich (.292, seven HR); Chris Marconcini (.251, eight HR, 45 RBI); Andrew Istler (8-7, 2.55 ERA).

Of note: The Blue Devils have never won this tournament. … Duke went 4-6 in its final 10 games. … Istler is tied for third in the conference in wins. … Marconcini is tied for second in home runs.


Record: 34-22, 15-14.

Players to watch: Daniel Gossett (7-1, 1.74 ERA); Matthew Crownover (7-5, 2.25 ERA); Steve Wilkerson (.316, five HR, 38 RBI); Garrett Boulware (.300, four HR, 34 RBI); Chris Okey (.251, four HR, 41 RBI).

Of note: The Tigers have won the most tournament titles with nine. … Clemson leads the conference in stolen bases (86). … Gossett is second in the conference in ERA and fourth in strikeouts (94). … Tyler Krieger is third in batting average (.340).


Record: 34-19, 15-14.

Players to watch: Brandon Lowe (.345, 36 RBI); Blake Schmit (.308, 25 RBI); Jose Cuas (.274, five HR, 38 RBI); Jake Stinnett (6-6, 2.53 ERA); Mike Shawaryn (9-3, 2.96).

Of note: The Terrapins have never won this tournament and will leave for the Big 10 after this year. … Maryland finished the regular season with a nine-game winning streak. … Shawaryn is tied for the conference lead in wins. … Lowe is second in batting average.

North Carolina

Record: 32-23, 15-15.

Players to watch: Michael Russell (.338, four HR); Landon Lassiter (.301); Trent Thornton (7-3, 202 ERA); Reilly Hovis (7-1, 1.80 ERA).

Of note: The Tar Heels won the tournament last year and have won it six times overall. … North Carolina went 5-5 in its final 10 regular-season games. … Russell is second in the conference in batting average and hits.

Wake Forest

Record: 30-25, 15-15.

Players to watch: Matt Conway (.290, four HR, 32 RBI); Will Craig (.283, eight HR, 36 RBI); Nate Mondou (.275, seven HR).

Of note: The Demon Deacons have won this tournament four times. … Wake Forest leads the conference in home runs (33). … The Demon Deacons went 4-8 down the stretch. … Craig is tied for second in the conference in home runs.

Georgia Tech

Record: 32-24, 14-16.

Players to watch: Daniel Spingola (.323, 34 RBI); Matt Gonzalez (.307, 32 RBI); Thomas Smith (.306, 33 RBI); Devin Stanton (5-3, 2.13 ERA).

Of note: The Yellow Jackets have won this tournament eight times, including the last time in 2012. … Georgia Tech leads the conference in hits (536). … Spingola leads the conference in hits (73).

N.C. State

Record: 32-22, 13-17.

Players to watch: Brett Austin (.336, five HR, 30 RBI); Andrew Knizner (.333, four HR, 47 RBI); Trea Turner (.318, eight HR, 36 RBI); Carlos Rodon (6-7, 2.01 ERA).

Of note: The Wolfpack have won this tournament four times. … N.C. State finished the regular season winning 10 of 13. … Knizner is tied for the conference lead in RBI. … Rodon leads the conference in strikeouts (117) and innings pitched (98-2/3) and is fifth in ERA.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service