Endorsement for Macon Water Authority chairman

May 7, 2014 

Macon Water Authority Chairman

For all of the primary races to be decided May 20, the Macon Water Authority board is blessed with candidates that have the experience and business acumen needed to run an authority that is more like a business than any other elected body. The vacuum left by the death of Frank Amerson is sure to be felt and this election it is imperative that the board coalesce to ensure the utility’s most vital function.

On the ballot for chairman is Steve Rickman who has served for seven years on the board. He’s well-versed in the duties of the board and its internal functions. He thinks, as did other candidates, that the public is largely unaware of the MWA and what it takes to make sure we have the best tasting water in the nation in plentiful supply. Rickman’s business experience comes from being a property manager for many years.

Sam Hart is the former chairman of the Bibb County Commission. Under his leadership, the commission passed a SPLOST that led to the recruitment of Tractor Supply. Of course, he supported consolidation, and under his stewardship the county remained financially healthy having the highest bond rating in the area with the exception of the MWA.

Hart left office as the second vice president for the board of managers for the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia.

Also on the ballot is David “DC” Cousino who has run for mayor twice and for county commission chairman. Cousino believes the MWA should look into bottling its water and selling it on the open market. While the idea is novel, it could take the focus away from what the MWA really does -- provide clean water to the residents in Bibb, Monroe and Jones counties.

The chairman’s position on the MWA is more about the ability to help sell the area’s assets and to help develop economic development strategies and planning for the future. For this job, Hart is a known quantity. He’s well-respected around the state and has been a valuable partner with the entities charged with bringing development to the area, the Macon Economic Development Commission, the Industrial Authority and the Greater Macon Chamber of Commerce. We endorse Sam Hart.

Citizens Advisory Board: Gigi Cabell, Bill Curry, Amy Elton, Philip Lengel, Gene Strouss, Giles O’Neal. Editorial Board: Don Bailey, Sherrie Marshall, Charles E. Richardson.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service