Perry High queen crowned Miss Dogwood

Sun News correspondentMarch 12, 2014 

Samantha Gidney, who just two weeks ago was crowned Miss Perry High School, was crowned Miss Dogwood in the annual pageant held Saturday at Perry High.

Gidney will reign over the Dogwood Festival, scheduled for April 11-13 in Perry.

Other young ladies crowned in the pageant were: Teen Miss Dogwood, Michaela Heide; Pre-Teen Miss Dogwood, Stella Mills; Junior Miss Dogwood, Denim Lovett; Little Miss Dogwood, Tyler Anne Pope; and Tiny Miss Dogwood, Kameron Griffith.

Miss Congeniality winners for the pageant were: Pre-Teen, Bridgette Neal; Teen, McKayla Conner; and Miss, Ashley Edmondson.

Interview winners in the pageant were: Pre-Teen, Stella Mills; Teen, Deja Cheatham; and Miss, Samantha Gidney.

Tiny Miss Dogwood first runner-up was Millie McKenzie, second runner-up was Olivia Rozell and third runner-up was Maggie Hartman.

Little Miss Dogwood first runner-up was Brynn Owens, second runner-up was Elle Tucker and third runner-up was Lexi Hardy.

Junior Miss Dogwood first runner-up was Mary Rowland, second runner-up was Mary Helen Hartman and third runner-up was Kinley Pridgen. Pre-Teen Miss Dogwood first runner-up was Payton Wisham, second runner-up was Emily Rowland and third runner-up was Maddie Alford.

Teen Miss Dogwood first runner-up was Greir Glaser, second runner-up was Deja Cheatham and third-runner up was Allianna Malloy.

In the Miss portion of the pageant, first runner-up was Liana Goff, second runner-up was Taylor Peterson and third runner-up was Tiffany Pitts.

Contact Alline Kent at 478-396-2467 or

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service