Students, teachers tie for Bibb’s STAR awards

jmink@macon.comFebruary 18, 2014 

Bibb County’s Student Teacher Achievement Recognition awards ended in a tie Tuesday during the annual STAR banquet.

The district winners were Naa Adorkor Allotey of Mount de Sales Academy and Hermanth Sanjeev of Stratford Academy. The teacher winners, who are selected by the STAR students, were Ron McLachlan of Mount de Sales and Abby Schirmer of Stratford. The winners go on to the regional competition, which will send a winner to the state STAR awards.

During Tuesday’s event, STAR students and teachers from 12 high schools in Bibb County also were recognized. Student winners earn high scores on the SAT, or they are in the top 10 -- or the top 10 percent -- of their classes.

In addition to the district winners, honorees from individual Bibb County schools include: Sarah Smith and teacher Brandon Daily from Central Fellowship Christian Academy; Darby Mowell and teacher Christopher Kirby from Central High School; Jesse Drew and teacher Ramona Hartman from Covenant Academy; William Roddenberry and teacher Jonathan Baker from First Presbyterian Day School; Teva Ilan and teacher Amy Brand from Howard High School; Arielle Carswell and teacher Sara Elliott from Rutland High School; David Dozier II and teacher Lynne Adams from Tattnall Square Academy; Mark Clayton and teacher Daniel Brown from Westside High School; Victravia Freeman and teacher Lawrence Robinson from William Hutchings Career Center, and Hannah Fisher and teacher Ashley Bentley from Windsor Academy.

“It’s exciting for us to celebrate the positive accomplishments of our students in our community,” said Lynn Farmer, event coordinator with the Greater Macon Chamber of Commerce and a Bibb County school board member. “They are our future leaders, and our future looks very bright.”

To contact writer Jenna Mink, call 256-9751.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service