Perry Chamber presents awards during annual meeting

lmorris@macon.comFebruary 7, 2014 

The Perry Chamber of Commerce recently held its 58th annual meeting with more than 150 in attendance.

The event, held Jan. 30 at the Perry Arts Center, was a time to look back at what was accomplished during 2013 and to make award presentations, according to a news release.

The chamber made a five-year pledge of $10,000 to the 21st Century Partnership and presented its first installment of $2,000, the release said.

The 2014 chairman, Marc Martin with the Bank of Perry, accepted the gavel from outgoing chairwoman Beth McLaughlin.

The awards and presentees were:

• Diplomat of the Year, Glen Anderson at David Ragan Ford.

• Business of the Year, ComSouth.

• Businesswoman of the Year, Mary Beth Bass, director of economic development for Perry.

• James E. Worrall Volunteer of the Year, Mike Speight of State Bank & Trust Co.

• Seabie Hickson Award, Lisa Hays for her work with the Balvaunuca Club and the Mistletoe Market.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service