Houston sets qualifying fees for upcoming election

wcrenshaw@macon.comJanuary 21, 2014 

WARNER ROBINS -- The Houston County Commission on Tuesday set qualifying fees for upcoming elections.

On the ballot this year will be two commission seats, including the chairman’s post, four board of education seats, State Court judge and State Court clerk.

The primary election will be held May 20, and the general election is Nov. 4. Qualifying is set for March 3-7.

The primary election is for partisan seats, and each party’s winner will face off in the general election. The nonpartisan races will be decided in the general election.

The two commission seats and the State Court clerk post are partisan, while the others are nonpartisan.

On the commission, Chairman Tommy Stalnaker and Post 2 Commissioner Jay Walker are up for re-election. School board members up for re-election are Chairwoman Marianne Melnick and board members Fred Wilson and Jim Maddox. A special election will be held for the seat held by Rick Unruh, who was appointed to the unexpired term of Tom Walmer last March.

Kendra Simons is the State Court clerk, and the State Court judge is Jason Ashford.

The qualifying fees, based on salary, are as follows: State Court judge, $3,924; clerk of State Court, $1,815; commission chairman, $2,495; commissioner, $360; and school board, $108.

To contact writer Wayne Crenshaw, call 256-9725.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service