EDUCATION NOTEBOOK: Houston teams prep for regional academic bowl

January 5, 2014 

Four Houston County middle schools will compete in the regional academic bowl Saturday at Feagin Mill Middle School.

Bonaire, Mossy Creek, Thomson and Warner Robins middle schools all advanced from the district level of the Professional Association of Georgia Educators Academic Bowl for Middle Grades, according to a news release. Competition begins about 9 a.m.

During the tournament, teams will field questions from different subjects, including history, math, science, literature and performing arts. There are also bonus questions, the release states.

Team coaches are: Dianne James and Mary Ellen Stuart, Bonaire Middle; Carol Kohn, Mossy Creek Middle; Terra McMillian, Thomson Middle; and Lori Campbell, Warner Robins Middle.

Winners will advance to the state championship Jan. 25 at Georgia College & State University.

Grant named for late Houston teacher

An international society has named its literacy grant for a late Houston County reading teacher.

The Gamma Omicron chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, a society of key women educators, named the grant in memory of Sarah Bates Granade due to her love for students and literacy, according to a news release.

Granade, who died in May, taught reading in Houston schools for many years. She taught at Warner Robins Junior High, Tabor Junior High and Perry High School. After she retired, Granade often encountered adults she had taught in junior high. They would tell her how positively she had influenced their choices in life, the release states.

She was a charter member of the Gamma Omicron chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma and a member of the society for 26 years. Gamma Omicron provides personal books for students in selected schools in Houston County, according to the release.

Peach County students win prizes for ornaments

This holiday season brought an annual contest to Peach County schools, and six elementary students walked away with $20 each from Toys “R” Us. The Parent-Teacher Organization sponsors an ornament decorating contest each year. This year, the winners were fifth-grader Chloe Grant, fourth-grader Rosemari Medina, third-grader Marisa Prince, second-grader Taylor Alderman, first-grader Kaitlyn Johns and kindergartner Giovanni Magana.

Telegraph writers Jenna Mink and Jennifer Burk contributed to this report.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service