Education briefs

January 1, 2014 

Perry High art teacher to head state association

An art teacher at Perry High School has been elected president of the Georgia Art Education Association.

Cathy Heller begins her term in January, according to a news release. Sara Bilcik, Warner Robins High School art teacher, will serve as secretary.

“Cathy Heller is very deserving of this office within her organization. This confirms that she not only is a leader with art education in our school district but also in the entire state of Georgia,” Perry High Principal Darryl Albritton said in the release. “We are proud to have someone of her quality teaching our students at Perry High School.”

The Georgia Art Education Association’s mission is “to advocate for the highest quality visual arts education and provide for the advancement of knowledge through service, leadership and research,” the release states.

CGTC honor society inducts members

The Central Georgia Technical College chapter of the National Technical Honor Society recently inducted 25 new members, including 14 from Houston and Peach counties, according to a news release.

Houston and Peach students recognized included Michele Angelos of Warner Robins, Charles Collins of Byron, Darrell Dailey of Byron, Tracy Deese of Bonaire, Brian Dukes of Warner Robins, Katrena Gaines of Warner Robins, Angela Henderson of Bonaire, Ouida Jerrell of Centerville, Andrew Pedone of Bonaire, Shannon Sandry of Warner Robins, Claire Stanger of Warner Robins, Jennifer Tatarka of Warner Robins, Michelle Turner of Bonaire, and Rebecca Wisham of Warner Robins.

To receive this honor, students must be nominated by an instructor, be a full-time student at Central Georgia Tech for at least two complete semesters and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5, according to the release.

Students named to Darton State Dean’s, Merit lists

Darton State College has released its Dean’s and Merit lists for fall 2013, including 19 students from Houston and Peach counties, according to a news release.

Students from Houston County named to the Dean’s List are: Gwendolyn Angel and Micha Graves. Students from Houston named to the Merit List are: Jearlon Butler, Julie Holder, Jennifer Woodall, Lori Money, Heather Addison, Jessica Godfrey, Kristin Hammett, Stephanie Lindsey, Susan Diana, Rosemary Herrera, Christina Hunt, Vivianne Ngui, Bryan Smith and Heather Staley.

Students from Peach County named to the Merit List are: Karen Grissom, Kathleen Gockman and Susan Layman.

Students on the Dean’s List must be full time and earn a 3.4 or higher GPA. Students on the Merit List must be part time and earn a 3.4 or higher GPA, the release states.

-- Staff reports

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service