Three Georgia players named first-team all-SEC

semerson@macon.comDecember 9, 2013 

Georgia's Arthur Lynch jumps over Georgia Techs Chris Milton to catch a pass.


Arthur Lynch has spent most of his time at Georgia being asked about his star roommate. Marshall Morgan was suspended the first two games of this season, and that was after an erratic freshman season. Ramik Wilson hardly saw the first his first two seasons.

But these three Georgia players, overlooked by the bigger stars on their team, were the ones on the AP’s All-SEC first team, released on Monday.

Lynch has 24 catches for 390 yards, and his five touchdowns is tied for the team lead. A native of Massachusetts, the outgoing aspiring politician is a media darling, often opining on roommate Aaron Murray. But he is also a pretty accomplished player in his own right. Lynch has accepted an invitation to the Senior Bowl.

Morgan is 18-for-20 on field goals this year, and has not missed an extra point. He leads the SEC in field goals made, despite being suspended the season's first two games.

Last year Morgan was 8-for-14 on field goals, and missed four extra points. That was followed by offseason boating arrest and subsequent suspension, and walk-on Patrick Beless was perfect as his replacement. But head coach Mark Richt held firm that Morgan should remain the kicker, and the sophomore rewarded Richt’s faith in him.

Wilson leads the SEC with 128 tackles, and also leads with 72 solo tackles. He also has four sacks.

The junior only had 10 career tackles entering this season, mostly on special teams, and it took until this season for the coaches to nail him down at inside linebacker. Wilson shuttled between outside and inside linebacker his first two years. Now at a comfortable spot, he has thrived.

Georgia’s top two stars were upended by injury and tough competition at their positions.

Senior quarterback Aaron Murray made the second team, finishing behind Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, but ahead of Alabama's A.J. McCarron. Murray, who did not play the final regular season game after tearing his ACL against Kentucky, finished second in the SEC in passing yards per game, behind Manziel, and fourth in pass efficiency.

Georgia sophomore tailback Todd Gurley also made the second team. Gurley likely would have been first team had he not missed three games with an ankle injury. Gurley is fifth in the SEC in rushing yards per game, with 100.3 per game.

The Associated Press vote includes a panel of one media member per each of the SEC’s teams. (This reporter was one of them.) Each voter can only vote for a first team, so the second team and honorable mentions are limited.

Georgia had several other defensive players, including defensive lineman Garrison Smith and linebacker Amarlo Herrera, who might have merited at least honorable mention. But the AP’s voting procedure leads to a more exclusive list.

The coaches All-SEC teams will be released later this week.

Auburn had the offensive player of the year (Tre Mason) and coach of the year (Gus Malzahn). Missouri had the defensive player of the year (Michael Sam.)

Here is the full list:



WR — Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 205, Sr.

WR — Mike Evans, Texas A&M, 6-5, 225, So.

L — Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 340, Sr.

L — Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr.

L — Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, 6-5, 305, Sr.

L — t-Justin Britt, Missouri, 6-6, 315, Sr.

L — t-Greg Robinson, Auburn, 6-5, 320, So.

L — t-Anthony Steen, Alabama, 6-3, 309, Sr.

C — Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6-5, 315, Sr.

TE — Arthur Lynch, Georgia, 6-5, 254, Sr.

QB — Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 6-1, 210, So.

RB — u-Tre Mason, Auburn, 5-10, 205, Jr.

RB — Jeremy Hill, LSU, 6-2, 235, So.

K — Marshall Morgan, Georgia, 6-3, 200, So.

All-Purpose — Odell Beckham Jr., LSU, 6-0, 193, Jr.


E — u-Michael Sam, Missouri, 6-2, 255, Sr.

E — Dee Ford, Auburn, 6-2, 240, Sr.

T — Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina, 6-4, 298, Jr.

E — t-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, 6-6, 274, Jr.

E — t-Kony Ealy, Missouri, 6-5, 275, Jr.

LB — u-C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 232, Sr.

LB — Ramik Wilson, Georgia, 6-2, 232, Jr.

LB — A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, 6-2, 243, Jr.

CB — E.J. Gaines, Missouri, 5-11, 195, Sr.

CB — Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, 5-11, 192, Fr.

S — Cody Prewitt, Mississippi, 6-2, 220, Jr.

S — Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt, 6-1, 205, Sr.

P — Cody Mandell, Alabama, 6-3, 213, Sr.




WR — Jarvis Landry, LSU, 6-1, 195, Jr.

WR — Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri, 6-6, 225, So.

L — Ja'Waun James, Tennessee, 6-6, 316, Sr.

L — t-Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 295, Sr.

L — t-Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, 6-6, 327, Jr.

L — t-Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi, 6-5, 315, Fr.

L — t-Trai Turner, LSU, 6-3, 316, So.

C — Reese Dismukes, Auburn, 6-3, 297, Jr.

TE — t-Evan Engram, Mississippi, 6-3, 217, Fr.

TE — t-Hunter Henry, Arkansas, 6-6, 250, Fr.

TE — t-C.J. Uzomah, Auburn, 6-4, 258, Jr.

QB — Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 208, Sr.

RB — T.J. Yeldon, Alabama, 6-2, 218, So.

RB — t-Todd Gurley, Georgia, 6-1, 232, So.

RB — t-Mike Davis, South Carolina, 5-9, 215, So.

K — Zach Hocker, Arkansas, 6-0, 191, Sr.

All-Purpose — Christion Jones, Alabama, 5-11, 185, Jr.


E — Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, 6-4, 252, Jr.

T — Anthony Johnson, LSU, 6-3, 294, Jr.

E — Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, 6-3, 266, So.

LB — Avery Williamson, Kentucky, 6-1, 238, Sr.

LB — t-Lamin Barrow, LSU, 6-23, 232, Sr.

LB — t-Serderius Bryant, Mississippi, 5-9, 215, Jr.

LB — t-Trey DePriest, Alabama, 6-2, 245, Jr.

LB — t-Sharrod Golightly, South Carolina, 5-10, 195, Jr.

LB — t-Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi, 5-11, 207, So.

LB — t-Andrew Wilson, Missouri, 6-3, 240, So.

CB — Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 186, Sr.

CB — t-Chris Davis, Auburn, 5-11, 200, Sr.

CB — t-Victor Hampton, South Carolina, 5-10, 202, Jr.

CB — t-Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, 6-0, 190, Jr.

S — Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, 6-1, 208, Jr.

S — Landon Collins, Alabama, 6-0, 215, So.

P — Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 6-3, 205, So.




Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn, 6-1, 210, Jr.; AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama, 6-4, 214, Sr.; Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU, 6-5, 235, Sr.


Steven Clark, P, Auburn, 6-5, 230, Sr.; Ego Ferguson, T, LSU, 6-3, 309, Jr.; Markus Golden, E, Missouri, 6-3, 260, Jr.; Brandon Ivory, T, Alabama, 6-4, 310, Jr.; Chris Jones, T, Mississippi St., 6-5, 305, Fr.; Craig Loston, S, LSU, 6-2, 209, Sr.; Michael Palardy, P, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Sr.; Vinnie Sunseri, S, Alabama, 6-0, 210, Jr.; Robenson Therezie, S, Auburn, 5-9, 204, Jr.; Nickoe Whitley, S, Mississippi St., 6-1, 205, Sr.; Gabe Wright, T, Auburn, 6-3, 296, Jr.



Tre Mason, Auburn


Michael Sam, Missouri


Gus Malzahn, Auburn


Alex Collins, Arkansas

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service