New Historic Preservation Commission members approved

chwright@macon.comNovember 18, 2013 

WARNER ROBINS -- The first members of the newly formed Warner Robins Historic Preservation Commission were named at Monday’s council meeting.

City Council agreed unanimously to appoint Marilyn Ashmore, Arthur Howard, Jim Miles, Brian Russ and Bobby Sharp to the commission. Ashmore and Howard will serve three-year terms. Miles and Russ will serve two-year terms. Sharp will serve one year.

After a month of questions from council about what purpose the commission would serve, council voted Sept. 3 to create the board. The idea is for the commission to ensure certain historical features, such as the military housing on which Warner Robins was built, are not eliminated.

The commission will come up with historic districts it wants to protect and the procedures the commission will follow to do so. City Council has the final approval of both.

To contact writer Christina M. Wright, call 256-9685.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service