More voters flocking to Macon elections office each day

Staff reportOctober 10, 2013 

Voting traffic is getting heavier by the day at the Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections office.

On Wednesday, 992 men and women came by the office to vote in the runoff election, making it the highest turnout day so far during advance voting.

In fact, each successive day of early voting has brought more voters to the office: Saturday, 751; Monday, 926; and Tuesday, 979.

All registered voters in Macon and Bibb County can vote in the mayoral runoff for the new consolidated government, even if they did not vote Sept. 17. In the mayoral race, incumbent Mayor Robert Reichert faces former Macon Mayor C. Jack Ellis.

There also are four commission races to decide:

• In District 2, Macon City Council members Henry Ficklin and Larry Schlesinger square off.

• In District 4, Mallory C. Jones III faces Macon Councilwoman Beverly Olson.

• In District 6, Councilman Ed DeFore is battling Adah Roberts.

• In District 8, Macon City Council members Charles Jones and Virgil Watkins Jr. face off.

The elections office, located at 2445 Pio Nono Ave., is open from 8:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m. through Friday for early voting.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service

Top Jobs

View All

Find a Home

$8,900 Macon
. BUILD YOUR DREAM HOME in Jones County only 15 minutes ...

Find a Car

Search New Cars