Famed Brentano Quartet to open Fabian Concert Series at Mercer University

September 20, 2013 

The Brentano Quartet performs Tuesday at Mercer University’s Fickling Hall.


The annually anticipated Fabian Concert Series at Mercer University’s McDuffie Center for Strings begins Tuesday evening with a performance by the Brentano Quartet.

The Brentano Quartet includes Mark Steinberg, violin; Serena Canin, violin; Misha Amory, viola; and Nina Lee, cello. It is named for Antonie Brentano, whom many scholars consider to be Beethoven’s “Immortal Beloved,” the intended recipient of his famous love confession.

“Having a quartet like the Brentano’s here at Mercer will continue our tradition of great music,” said Amy Schwartz Moretti, director of Mercer’s Robert McDuffie Center for Strings. “Most people have probably heard them play before if they saw the movie, ‘A Late Quartet,’ starring Philip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener and Christopher Walken. They were the featured group throughout the movie. Their musicianship and group chemistry is wonderful.”

Since its inception in 1992, the quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim, according to a news release. The quartet had its first European tour in 1997, and was honored in the U.K. with the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut. In recent seasons, the quartet has traveled widely, appearing all over the United States and Canada, in Europe, Japan and Australia.

Brentano Quartet

When: 7:30 p.m. Sept. 24

Where: Fickling Hall, Mercer University

Cost: $12; free with Mercer I.D. and any student I.D.

Information: 478-301-5470; www.tickets.mercer.edu

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service