Warner Robins candidates face competitive election

Staff reportsSeptember 4, 2013 

Warner Robins races are hotly contested this year, with no one running unopposed and six candidates vying for the mayor’s seat in November.

By the end of qualifying Friday, former City Councilman Mike Brashear, Robins Air Force Base employee Chuck Chalk, Eva Folse, City Councilman Daron Lee, former Public Works Director Joe Musselwhite and former firefighter Randy Toms had all put their names in the hat for the mayor’s race.

Missing was Mayor Chuck Shaheen, who is running for the Post 1 at-large City Council seat, rather than trying for re-election. He will face incumbent Councilman Mike Daley, who also will defend his seat against Charlie Scott and Jeffrey Walker.

Incumbent Paul Shealy seeks re-election to his Post 3 council seat, while facing competition from teacher Keith Lauritsen.

And finally, in Post 5, a familiar face returns as Clifford Holmes tries to reclaim the seat he left four years ago to run in a failed bid for mayor. He will face Liberty Kovach and Richard “Chef” Weldon. (Lee is vacating the Post 5 seat to run for mayor.)

Also last week, Brashear resigned his Post 4 council position to run for mayor. Since there are two years left on his term, a special election was called, and qualifying for that seat is this week.

Neither the Perry nor Centerville mayors face opposition in this year’s election, but Fort Valley’s John Stumbo will have to defend his mayoral post against Barbara Williams.

Here’s the final list of candidates:



Mayor: John Harley, 69, incumbent

City Council Post 1: Cameron Andrews, 44, incumbent

City Council Post 2: Randall Wright, 66, incumbent; Michael Evans, 51


Mayor: Jimmy Faircloth, 63, incumbent

City Council District 1, Post 1: Phyllis Bynum-Grace, 64, incumbent

City Council District 2, Post 1: Joe Posey, 52, incumbent

City Council District 3, Post 1: Randall Walker, 67, incumbent

Warner Robins

Mayor: Mike Brashear, 65; Chuck Chalk, 46; Eva Folse, 66; Daron Lee, 43; Joe Musselwhite, 60; Randy Toms, 53

City Council, Post 1: Mike Daley, 64, incumbent; Charlie Scott, 71; Chuck Shaheen, 52; Jeffrey Walker, 52

City Council, Post 3: Keith Lauritsen, 49; Paul Shealy, 68, incumbent

City Council, Post 5: Clifford Holmes, 70; Liberty Kovach, 25; Richard “Chef” Weldon, 57



City Council Post 3: Michael S. Chumbley, 60, incumbent

City Council Post 4: Michael Chidester, 53, incumbent

City Council Post 5: Alan Dorsey, 42; Rick Knowles, 60; Mark C. Waters, 52

Fort Valley

Mayor: John Stumbo, 73, incumbent; Barbara Williams, 63

City Council East Ward: Juanita Bryan, 63, incumbent

City Council At-Large: Alonzo Allen, 58; LeMario Brown, 28; Duke Lane Jr., 65

City Council West Ward: Anthony Clark, 41; Melba Hester, 74, incumbent

Utility Commissioner East Ward: Billy Jones, 69, incumbent; Minnie Marks Jones, 66

Utility Commissioner At-Large: Jo Ann Dankel, 66, incumbent; Teresia Dennis, 41

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service