Warner Robins Hall of Fame announces inductees

July 31, 2013 

As a board member of the Warner Robins Hall of Fame committee, it is my great pleasure to announce the 2013 class of inductees.

This year, the Warner Robins Hall of Fame will induct the following:

• The Rev. Willie J. Johnson. Johnson devoted his life to his church and his community. He has served on numerous community committees and helped guide the city during desegregation. In 1951, he founded Boy Scout Troop 163, the first troop in Warner Robins for black boys.

• Claude Lewis. Lewis was the first head of the Warner Robins Recreation Department. Lewis brought T-ball to Warner Robins in March 1958, basing the game on his old high school coach’s batting practice of using a tee. Lewis wrote the rules for the game -- literally -- sending copies of the rules of his new game all over the United States and as far away as Israel and the Philippines. He is a member of the Georgia Recreation and Park Hall of Fame.

• Charles R. Singleton. Known as “Mr. Charlie” to the thousands of boys he mentored over the course of more than 45 years as a Boy Scout leader with Troop 566. He helped 170 boys become Eagle Scouts, and in 2010 he was inducted into the Boy Scouts of America 100th Anniversary National Hall of Leadership.

• C.B. (Boss) Watson. He was the first mayor of Warner Robins. Watson was a “native,” born and raised in the area. He was appointed mayor by the state when the city was chartered in 1943 and remained in that position until 1950.

• William Wisse. In 1956, he was approached about starting a Rotary Club in Warner Robins. The club was granted a charter Dec. 26, 1956, and he served as the first president. In 2007, he was recognized with Rotary’s Lifetime Achievement Award. He served as the city attorney from 1956-1968.

• Edward J. Wiggins. Was a founding member of the 21st Century Partnership and served as chairman for several years. He has been very involved in the community and is a lifelong resident of Warner Robins.

The mission of the Warner Robins Hall of Fame is to preserve the heritage and history of Warner Robins. Nominations for inductees were gathered from members of the community. The city of Warner Robins inducted the first class into the Warner Robins Hall of Fame in October 2012, and that class comprised Henrietta McIntyre, Pearl Stephens, Judge Nick Lazaros, David Perdue, Frank Ryals, Charles Williams and Chief Ernest W. Wood.

The 2013 class will be honored at a dinner to be held at the Museum of Aviation in October.

Contact Alline Kent at 396-2467 or allinekent@cox.net.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service