Houston announces Teachers of the Year

Staff reportJune 12, 2013 

Houston County schools have announced the 2013-14 Teachers of the Year.

The honorees will be recognized at the school system’s opening session July 25 at the Georgia National Fairgrounds and Agricenter.

The four finalists and Teacher of the Year will be announced at the opening session, according to a news release.

The Teachers of the Year are:

Matt Arthur Elementary: Stacy Daly

Bonaire Elementary: Blake Johnsa

Bonaire Middle: Cheralyn Keily

Centerville Elementary: Anne Moore (finalist)

Eagle Springs Elementary: Kimberly Strozier

Feagin Mill Middle: Brian Lewis

Hilltop Elementary: Ruth White

Houston County Career Academy: Cindy O’Mara

Houston County Crossroads Center: Angela Karros

Houston County High: Stephanie Justen

Huntington Middle: Lisa Carson (finalist)

Kings Chapel Elementary: Julie Tomberlin

Lake Joy Elementary: Ashley McSwain (finalist)

Lake Joy Primary: Sherry Partain

Lindsey Elementary: Penny Rumph

Linwood Elementary: Aree Byrd

Miller Elementary: Amanda Miliner (finalist)

Morningside Elementary: Michele Casey

Mossy Creek Middle: Justin Bennett (finalist)

Northside Elementary: Marla Garnto (finalist)

Northside High: Lori Zavetz (finalist)

Northside Middle: Melissa Shiver

Parkwood Elementary: Servella Wrotten

David Perdue Elementary: Amy Warden

David Perdue Primary: Phaedra Early

Perry High: Jerry Gatzke

Perry Middle: Wendy Pheil

Perry Primary: Jennifer Knight

Quail Run Elementary: Darcy Hatin

Russell Elementary: Marcy Waugh

Shirley Hills Elementary: Jack Story

Pearl Stephens Elementary: Brette Callaway (finalist)

Thomson Middle: Jessica Green

Tucker Elementary: Stephanie Wilson

Veterans High: Christie Wall (finalist)

Warner Robins High: Jane Johnston

Warner Robins Middle: Kimessia Hughes (finalist)

Westside Elementary: Amber Bowling

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service