LSU, Vanderbilt teams to beat in SEC baseball tournament

Telegraph StaffMay 20, 2013 

Vanderbilt and LSU dominated the SEC during the regular season.

This week, the two teams will try to complete the job with an SEC baseball tournament title in Hoover, Ala.

Vanderbilt went 26-3 in conference play to win the East Division title, and the Commodores are 48-7 overall. LSU finished 23-7 to win the West Division, and the Tigers are 48-8 overall.

Both teams received byes into the second day of the SEC tournament, which begins Tuesday with four games.

The tournament opens with Mississippi and Kentucky meeting at 10:30 a.m. That game will be followed by Alabama vs. Auburn, Florida vs. Texas A&M and Mississippi State vs. Missouri.

Wednesday, the Florida-Texas A&M winner will face Vanderbilt, while the Alabama-Auburn winner advances to meet LSU.

Arkansas (Mississippi-Kentucky winner) and South Carolina (Mississippi State-Missouri winner) also received byes into the second day of play.

The schedule includes four more games Thursday and two Friday and Saturday before Sunday’s championship game.

Georgia and Tennessee were the two conference teams left out of the 12-team field.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service