SEC, Big 12 to begin basketball challenge

May 14, 2013 

The SEC announced it will start the Big 12/SEC Challenge for the 2013-14 season.

But Georgia won't play in the first year, along with Arkansas, LSU and Tennessee. “The ability to showcase SEC basketball in this kind of conference competition makes this a unique and exciting event for our coaches, student-athletes and fans,” SEC commissioner Mike Slive said in a release. “We are pleased to be able to work with the Big 12 and ESPN to highlight the sport of men’s basketball.” All 10 of the Big 12’s teams will take part in the event. ESPN will provide exclusive coverage of all 10 games across it networks. Eight of the 10 games in the 2013 event will be played at home sites (each conference has four home games), and two matchups will be at neutral sites.

The first year's matchups are:

Texas Tech at Alabama

Vanderbilt at Texas

Auburn at Iowa State

Mississippi at Kansas State

West Virginia at Missouri

TCU at Mississippi State

South Carolina at Oklahoma State

Kentucky vs. Baylor (Arlington, Texas)

Kansas at Florida

Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma (Houston, Texas)

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service