Burn ban resumes in Middle Georgia

hduncan@macon.comApril 29, 2013 

As the summer ozone season kicks off, the annual burn-ban period begins Wednesday for most Middle Georgia counties.

The ban is intended to enhance air quality by reducing fine particle pollution and ozone, both of which can cause heart and lung problems.

Middle Georgia counties included in the 54-county ban are Bibb, Crawford, Houston, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Monroe, Peach, Putnam, Twiggs and Upson.

In counties outside the ban, residents still need a burn permit from the Georgia Forestry Commission before burning yard waste or brush.

Permits can be requested online at GaTrees.org or by calling a local commission office. If conditions are safe for burning, permits will be automatically granted.

To contact writer S. Heather Duncan, call 744-4225.

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service