Education briefs

February 27, 2013 

Practical nursing student wins MGTC GOAL award

Jody Holtzclaw has been named the winner of the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) at Middle Georgia Technical College. He will now advance to the region and state competitions, according to a news release.

Region and state winners will be announced in April at a conference in Atlanta. The conference will allow GOAL winners to participate in professional development and leadership activities, the release states.

Holtzclaw, a practical nursing student, was selected by a panel of community leaders. The award honors excellence in leadership and academics.

“I am very honored and humbled to receive this award,” Holtzclaw said in a news release. “I chose technical education because it was a perfect fit for me. I know I will be fully prepared for the workforce upon graduation because of the hands-on training I have received at Middle Georgia Technical College.”

Former MGC students named to Dean’s, Merit lists

Former Middle Georgia College students from Houston and Peach counties were named to the Middle Georgia State College Dean’s and Merit lists in fall 2012. Students on the Dean’s List earned at least a 3.5 grade point average while taking at least 12 hours of coursework. According to a news release, they are:

From Bonaire: Alexis R. Hnatiak, Jada K. Holmes, Narrae Michelle James, Christopher Shane Mcinvale, Caitlin Breanne Ratley;

From Byron: William J. Insley, Kara Lynn Petit;

From Kathleen: Derek Coleman Pollard, Brandon Jay Sprouse, Vivek Reddy Sreepathi;

From Perry: Sara Chloe Adams, Michelle Paige Hurst;

From Warner Robins: Brandon M. Boggess, Jennifer Lauren Coggins, Adron Earl Dube, Kristen Elaine Hanson Lucas, Ericka Taylor Harless, Kelly Suzanne Jones-Culpepper, Jennifer Meghann Main, Jeremy Grant Mullis, Justin Alan Stokes, Shaun Walds, Jennifer E. Wolynes.

Students on the Merit List earned at least a 3.5 grade point average while taking three to 11 hours of coursework. They are:

From Bonaire: Amber Dennis Holley, Donald Phillip Kingsley;

From Byron: Chelsea Danielle Bennett, Saketha Antonia Stephens;

From Kathleen: Katie Smith Keuper, Caryn Trimnal Patel;

From Perry: William Bradley Whiddon;

From Warner Robins: Kristen Nicole Eanes, Shelly Ann Jordan, Jennifer Lynn Powell, Justin Aaron Shuttleworth.

-- Staff reports

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service