Lassiter named as new Houston County head coach

January 16, 2013 

Von Lassiter was approved as director of athletics and head football coach at Houston County High School at the Jan. 8 meeting of the board of education.

“I’m very thankful of the opportunity and ready to get started,” Lassiter told The Telegraph. “The county administration has a strong desire for athletic success in Houston County.”

A graduate of Bleckley County High School and then Georgia Southwestern State University, Lassiter also has ties to Houston County. He served as an assistant coach at Northside in 2007 and 2008.

The Houston County job is his first as a head coach, but he has served as both an offensive coordinator (at Bleckley County) and a defensive coordinator (most recently at West Laurens). For the Bears, Lassiter chose Ryan Crawford as his defensive coordinator and Mike Chastain for the offense. Crawford, the husband of current Houston County softball coach Angela Crawford, had been on the staff at Northside. Chastain served as the quarterbacks coach at Veterans High.

Lassiter is the fourth coach in Houston County history. He replaces Greg Robinson who went 17-33 in five seasons.

Perry, Northside wrestlers advance to state

Perry’s wrestling team went 2-2 at the GHSA Class AAAA state duals meet and finished among the top eight.

A No. 2 seed after falling to West Laurens in the Area 2-AAAA meet, the Panthers opened the state meet in fine fashion, defeating Cairo 54-22. Jatavis Owens won the opening bout by forfeit. After that, eight other Perry wrestlers recorded pins: Josh Cross; Sean Swann; Dillon Hanners; Tal Lineberger; Cody Eakins; Jake Parker; Derekston Williams and Mark Ray.

“It was a lot of fun,” Perry coach Randy Moss said.

The Panthers lost in the quarterfinals to eventual champion Gilmer County, but rebounded to take down Glenn Hills 39-31 in the consolation bracket. Perry then lost to Locust Grove and was eliminated.

Northside also competed at the state duals as part of the Class AAAAA field, but the Eagles went 0-2.

Veterans grid awards

Veterans High held its football awards banquet Jan. 10. Varsity winners were: Chantz Williams (best offensive lineman); Malik Broughton (best offensive back/receiver); Dalton Quarles and Cortez Broughton (best defensive linemen); D.J. Rozier (best defensive linebacker/back); Tim Yalcin (best special teams); Bryan Horton (Golden Helmet MVP); D.J. McElroy (hustle award); Justin Sims (most improved offense); Devetrick McClain (most improved defense) and Josh Russell (academic achievement).

Freshmen winners were: Logan Hurless and Devin Wingate (best offensive lineman); Desjuan Harris (best offensive back/receiver); Hunter Branham (best defensive lineman) and Matthew Hearst and Isaiah Gray (best defensive back/linebacker. Junior varsity awards went to: Matthew Lauritsen (best offensive lineman); Robbie Leever (best offensive back/receiver); Jamar Simmons (best defensive lineman) and Austin Burnette and Jacob Cornett (best defensive linebacker/defensive back).

Warner Robins grid awards

Warner Robins High held its football awards banquet Jan. 10. Varsity winners were: Jacob Jamerson (sportsmanship award); Kyle Priser (leadership award); Brock Harrell (Mr. Consistency and academic award); Tyler Cranford (Christian athlete); Jason Scott (inspiration of achievement and senior academic award); Caden Johnston (Reese Noble Award); Jermaine Abron (Wade Moore Award); Dominique Atkins (Joe Sumrall Award); Sherkon Wright (Ernest Davis Award); Matt Monday (special teams award); DeAnthony Mack (Golden Helmet and best receiver); Rod Harris (best defensive back); Xavier Etheridge (best defensive lineman); Wesley Davis (best linebacker); Danny Hite Jr. (best offensive back); Brian Cornish (best offensive lineman); Michael Callaway (most improved); Octavius Clark (hustle award); Landon Hopf (junior academic award); Boda Culler (sophomore academic award); Conner Shaw (freshman academic award).

Junior varsity awards went to: Kaman Cooper (best defensive lineman/linebacker); Reshawn Buckner (best defensive back); Decoda Davis (best offensive back/receiver); Colby Price (best offensive lineman) and Reggie Gordon (future Demon). Ninth-grade award winners were: Trey Maddox (best defensive lineman/linebacker); Tyronne Tharpe (best defensive back); Trey Etheridge (best offensive lineman); Terry Harris (best offensive back) and Marquez Callaway and Shamair Mitchell (future Demons).

Darton swim meet

On the strength of a third-place finish by its girls, the Warner Robins swim team finished fourth out of 20 teams in the combined score of the Lee County Invitational swim meet held Jan. 5 at Darton College in Albany. Veterans finished fifth overall, followed by Houston County (13th) and Northside (17th).

Contact Chris Deighan at

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service