Education briefs

November 28, 2012 

Scholar-athletes recognized

The Perry Kiwanis Club recently recognized scholar-athletes from Perry High School and The Westfield School.

Sydney Barker, a junior at The Westfield School, is an honors student and member of the varsity softball team. She has played varsity softball since eighth grade, playing positions of pitcher and right fielder.

She has been named to the GISA All-Region and All-State softball teams.

Jimmy Mehserle, a senior at Perry High School, is ranked second in his class out of 291 students and is a National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalist who has won many awards including the Georgia Certificate of Merit. He has been on the track and field team all four years of high school, helping his team win several district and region championships.

13 MGTC students nominated for GOAL award

Middle Georgia Technical College instructors have nominated 13 students for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership, commonly called GOAL.

The program “honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students,” according to a news release. Winners are chosen at 26 colleges.

Middle Georgia Tech nominees are: Darryl Kitchens of Warner Robins, Brenhilda Paul of Warner Robins, Leasa Kurek of Bonaire, Katrena Gaines of Warner Robins, ShunKia Turner of Warner Robins, Chris Tolen of Perry, LaNita Way of Perry, Jody Holtzclaw of Warner Robins, Tymothy Giddens of Byron, Isabel Fairman of Warner Robins, Debra Lynn Yeager of Hawkinsville, Jerry Moore of Warner Robins and Tonya McFarling of Perry.

Four finalists will be selected from the 13 nominees, and the school’s winner will be announced at the Fall Semester Awards Day ceremony Dec. 5.

-- Staff reports

The Telegraph is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service